Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

New Contributor
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Can I set up my Bold so that I can access emails only when connected to Wi-Fi?

I am not on a Blackberry plan, I use the phone through a prepaid sim (it's through Optus in Australia).

I have successfully set up Wi-Fi and accessed it from a few different locations (home, work etc). I would like to set up email so that it only comes through when I'm connected to Wi-Fi. I'm not sure if I have access to data services ordinarily through my pre-paid sim, so I want to be sure that I am not using my pre-paid credit if I set up the email function and be able to switch the email function on and off when I like (if you can do that).

Can it be done? If so, would you mind posting instructions. I'm a BB noob and have not used email through BB before.

Thank you for your help.

Forums Veteran III
My Device: Bold - T-mobile

Re: Can I set up my Bold so that I can access emails only when connected to Wi-Fi?

For make a mail setup you need any blackberry data plan, if you don't have data p[lan you can't setup your mail in the device.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.
New Contributor

Re: Can I set up my Bold so that I can access emails only when connected to Wi-Fi?

Thanks for your reply. I definitely don't have a blackberry data plan, but I may have a general data plan (I did on my post-paid plan, I'm assuming it stayed with me to my transfer to pre-paid).

Does it need to be a specific blackberry data plan?

Forums Veteran III