Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-07-2008
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Can I set up my Bold so that I can access emails only when connected to Wi-Fi?

I am not on a Blackberry plan, I use the phone through a prepaid sim (it's through Optus in Australia).


I have successfully set up Wi-Fi and accessed it from a few different locations (home, work etc). I would like to set up email so that it only comes through when I'm connected to Wi-Fi. I'm not sure if I have access to data services ordinarily through my pre-paid sim, so I want to be sure that I am not using my pre-paid credit if I set up the email function and be able to switch the email function on and off when I like (if you can do that).


Can it be done? If so, would you mind posting instructions. I'm a BB noob and have not used email through BB before.

 

Thank you for your help.

Forums Veteran III
Posts: 4,526
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Bold - T-mobile

Re: Can I set up my Bold so that I can access emails only when connected to Wi-Fi?

For make a mail setup you need any blackberry data plan, if you don't have data p[lan you can't setup your mail in the device.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-07-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can I set up my Bold so that I can access emails only when connected to Wi-Fi?

Thanks for your reply. I definitely don't have a blackberry data plan, but I may have a general data plan (I did on my post-paid plan, I'm assuming it stayed with me to my transfer to pre-paid).

 

Does it need to be a specific blackberry data plan?

 

 

Forums Veteran III
Posts: 4,526
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Bold - T-mobile

Re: Can I set up my Bold so that I can access emails only when connected to Wi-Fi?

Call your carrier and ask about prices, but with the most basic you can access to mail, messenger, etc.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-07-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can I set up my Bold so that I can access emails only when connected to Wi-Fi?

Great, thanks will do. Otherwise I'm really happy with the Wi-Fi in the Bold so will just keep accessing email through the browser (gmail).

 

 

New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can I set up my Bold so that I can access emails only when connected to Wi-Fi?

I set up my email (Gmail) on the Blackberry Bold. Now I can completley turn off the radio from my provider (Rogers in Canada) and use the email strictly on WiFi. I don't think this is incurring any expense or logging anything on my data plan (I hope).
Forums Veteran III
Posts: 4,526
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Bold - T-mobile

Re: Can I set up my Bold so that I can access emails only when connected to Wi-Fi?

Yes, but you set up your mail because you have data plan, this is the point.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-14-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can I set up my Bold so that I can access emails only when connected to Wi-Fi?

Got it! I am right in assuming that WiFi access does not use any of the data plan?
Forums Veteran III
Posts: 4,526
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Bold - T-mobile

Re: Can I set up my Bold so that I can access emails only when connected to Wi-Fi?

Yes if you have turn off the mobile network.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.