Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-12-2013
My Device: Curve 9300
My Carrier: SaskTel

Can't Reload Software - Help, Please!

I've been having troubles with the trackpad lately, and was told the software might need updating. So, I connect it to my computer, go to update the software, and now I'm getting the "Error 507" screen. I tried going to the support website, and doing what that says, but it won't work. My phone will no longer connect with the computer, and I can't get it to "repair" so that it will connect. Any ideas, or am I royally **bleep**ed?

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,558
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Can't Reload Software - Help, Please!

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

 

In some cases, a 507 is normal during the process -- it indicates that no OS is present on the device, and it is waiting for whatever the controlling app is to move to the next step (load the OS onto the device). Sometimes, that can be kick started by simply removing and reinserting the USB cable. But, if you've already moved past that, then you have do do some other things now. Here are some methods that may help:

  • KB10144 How to force the detection of the BlackBerry smartphone using Application Loader
  • KB27956 How to recover a BlackBerry smartphone from any state

 

Usually, these work best not via the support website, but rather with both the Desktop Sofware AND your BB OS package downloaded and installed to your PC:

Good luck and let us know!



Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-12-2013
My Device: Curve 9300
My Carrier: SaskTel

Re: Can't Reload Software - Help, Please!

Nothing is working; I don't get the "update" option, I get "repair", and it fails every time.

My phone won't connect, no matter what I try.

Thank-you for your help, though! Smiley Happy

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,558
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Can't Reload Software - Help, Please!

We're not done yet. Try this tool:

see if it can do a WIPE and reload to your BB.

 

As to connecting to your PC, sometimes it takes many many tries (dozens) to get the timing just right in certain circumstances.



Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-12-2013
My Device: Curve 9300
My Carrier: SaskTel

Re: Can't Reload Software - Help, Please!

Not compatible with MAC computers. Smiley Sad

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,558
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Can't Reload Software - Help, Please!

Oh sorry...didn't know you were on a MAC. Indeed, what I provided in the second part of Post 2 above also cannot be carried out on a MAC...you cannot install to the MAC the BB OS package, and that is required for that process to work, and so can only be carried out on a PC. So how did you manage that?


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-12-2013
My Device: Curve 9300
My Carrier: SaskTel

Re: Can't Reload Software - Help, Please!

I always forget to specify that we have a MAC. Sorry!

 

Honestly, I have no idea what I'm doing, other than following whatever the step-by-steps tell me to do, and having no luck.

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,558
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Can't Reload Software - Help, Please!

Sorry, but you really could not even have actually carried out what I gave you above in Post 2...for I said:

  • "Usually, these work best not via the support website, but rather with both the Desktop Sofware AND your BB OS package downloaded and installed to your PC."

While you can do the first part of that (install the Desktop Software) on a MAC, you cannot install the BB OS package to a MAC. Perhaps you skipped over that part and didn't say...but no matter...

 

I'm going to ask that this thread be moved over to our MAC-specific section (so don't post again...this will all be moved)...other MAC users tend to hang out more over there. 

But I honestly do not know if ANY of the repair procedures can even be carried out via MAC at all.

 

Good luck!



Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-12-2013
My Device: Curve 9300
My Carrier: SaskTel

Re: Can't Reload Software - Help, Please!

I downloaded what it told me to download; no clue over here.

 

Thanks for all your help, at any rate. Appreciate it. Smiley Happy

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,558
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Can't Reload Software - Help, Please!

FYI...your download source, for the Desktop Software, is here:

If you do try on PC, then your download source for the BB OS package is here:

You are in a situation where things are very mucked up...so following what "it" tells you may not be your best course of action to recover. There are lots of "tricks" (I only know of PC-based ones), but they require you to take control and not just rely on the automation. 

 

But, again, I've no idea about MAC.

 

Good luck!



Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................