Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-12-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Can't "Config Sync" "Unknown Error Reported"??? HELP PLEASE!!!

I am virgin in the BB world but really want to make this work for me.  I work for a company that has an Exchange Server for its outlook and I can get the e-mails through our Outlook Web Access.

 

I have setup the software on my personal computer at home and it works fine!

 

When I got the IT dept (with their admin rights) to load it on my company laptop the sync failed.  I can't even Config it.

 

Like I said I really want this to work, more so I can stick it in IT's face cause they say it can't be done.  Now just for clarification I understand that through OWA I can't "auto sync" if you wish the contacts, tasks, and calender thus my desire to have the software working properly.

 

PLEASE SOMEONE HELP ME!!!

 

BTW...I am running in the computers... 

 - XP SP3 with outlook 2003 on the laptop @ work

 - XP SP2 with outlook 2002 on the Desktop @ home

 - The BB is a Curve 8330 through US Cellular

Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Can't "Config Sync" "Unknown Error Reported"??? HELP PLEASE!!!

Do you have administrator rights on your PC?
Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-12-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can't "Config Sync" "Unknown Error Reported"??? HELP PLEASE!!!

I must admit that I don't know but I would assume yes as I don't need to do anything special other then just pop in a disk and install software on that.  Is that what you mean?
Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Can't "Config Sync" "Unknown Error Reported"??? HELP PLEASE!!!

Try loggin in as the administrator, or go to users and see what right you do have,

Let me know!

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-12-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can't "Config Sync" "Unknown Error Reported"??? HELP PLEASE!!!

First off I have no clue what you are talking about.

 

Second I said in the initial that I needed IT with their Admin rights to put it on in the first place.

 

Third, If I had any rights to load or unload I wouldn't have needed IT!!

Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Can't "Config Sync" "Unknown Error Reported"??? HELP PLEASE!!!

My mistake sir, I misunderstood you!

Please let me know what version of Deskktop software you are using.

Thank you.

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-12-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can't "Config Sync" "Unknown Error Reported"??? HELP PLEASE!!!

DM Ver. 4.3.0.17 (Nov. 12, 2007)
Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Can't "Config Sync" "Unknown Error Reported"??? HELP PLEASE!!!

I would recommend downloading the BB USB drivers listed in this link:

 

Download

 

I would also upgrade to Desktop Manager 4.5 here is the link:

 

https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/entry.do?code=A8BAA56554F96369AB93E4F3BB068C22

 

Save both to the PC and then they are self opening .exe files. remove the old Version of Desktop

Install new version, the version USB drivers, reboot PC , do a battery pull on BB WITH the pone on. Replace the battery and when the PC programs are ready, plug the USB into the BB device and start Desktop software.

 

Please let me know!

 

 

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎08-12-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Can't "Config Sync" "Unknown Error Reported"??? HELP PLEASE!!!

It's the laptop I am having trouble with.  IT can help but do I do the same thing there?

 

Should I do this on both so as to have the same on both machines?

Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Can't "Config Sync" "Unknown Error Reported"??? HELP PLEASE!!!

I would fprovide for consistancy in backups, and trouble shooting.

Plus it's usually best to use the latest version as the vendor has both upgraded and usually fixed the code!

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter