Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎12-02-2011
My Device: curve 8520
My Carrier: t-mobile
Accepted Solution

Cannot run apps

i put this problem on the forum last tuesday but i have not a answer to this problem

The problem is when i have downloaded a new app i get this error message ERROR STARTING APP M522372bb56, ERROR LOADING MODULE,VEIFY ERROR i was told to try a battery pull or to reload the os by doing a restore, i have tried both of these and niether work can anyone help me please , i have a curve 8520

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,165
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAH108), PRIV (AAH995), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Cannot run apps

Hello,


chrisc123 wrote:

or to reload the os by doing a restore


Actually, that is not logical...restore has to do only with data...reload has to do with only the OS. So having both terms together causes the information to be in conflict, and I therefore do not understand what you were told to do nor what you actually may have done.

Nevertheless, I recommend that you attempt to boot into Safe Mode:

  • KB17877 How to start a BlackBerry smartphone in Safe Mode

It may take you multiple attempts to get the ESC key sequence (press/release/hold) correct, so be patient. When successfully into Safe Mode, see what happens.

If the behavior ceases, then think carefully...what happened just before this behavior started? A new app? An update? A Theme? Something else? Think carefully as the smallest change could be causal...and attempt to undo whatever that was.



But if the behavior continues in Safe Mode, then you may need to consider more drastic actions -- WIPE, OS Reload, BBSAK Wipe/Reload, and the "Bare Bones" OS Reload Process. To prepare, you should be sure that you have a full backup to your PC...please review the Backup link in my auto-sig on this post for instructions.

You may also need the use of these tricks:

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎12-02-2011
My Device: curve 8520
My Carrier: t-mobile

Re: Cannot run apps

Hi I am having problems booting into safe mode, I have tried lots of time without successes

whitch is the right sequence you say press,release,hold  The article you refer me says when the red led goes out pres,hold release, whitch is right please

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,165
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAH108), PRIV (AAH995), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Cannot run apps

In reality, I found it to be a bit variable. In some cases, pressing and holding until about 50%, then leaving it to about 75%, then pressing again until perhaps 90%. I've no idea what the proper and exact sequence for you will be...it takes experimentation to get it right.

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎12-02-2011
My Device: curve 8520
My Carrier: t-mobile

Re: Cannot run apps

hi i finally managed to boot my mobile in safe mode, i reinstalled a  app that would not work, but to no avail i still got the same error message.

i tried to install a update today, ti would not download, the memory said 51mb, i wouder if this is the problem that new apps are not being installed? what do yuo think?

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,165
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAH108), PRIV (AAH995), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Cannot run apps


chrisc123 wrote:

hi i finally managed to boot my mobile in safe mode, i reinstalled a  app that would not work, but to no avail i still got the same error message.


The point of Safe Mode isn't to reinstall the app. The point of Safe Mode is to rule in/out your addon and 3rd party apps (those that auto-launch at boot up) as causal to your situation. From what you describe, that test did not actually get conducted...


chrisc123 wrote:

 

i tried to install a update today, ti would not download, the memory said 51mb, i wouder if this is the problem that new apps are not being installed? what do yuo think?


That is certainly possible...but, from your description, I cannot tell how you have attempted this update. OTA? Via the Desktop Software? Directly to LOADER.EXE? Some other method? I cannot tell at all what exactly you were attempting, so it's impossible to guide you from there...

But, if you were trying an on-device OTA update...then my recommendation is to STOP. That method, even if it could get past the error you saw, is very risky IMHO. It takes an on-device backup of your data, from which it restores after the update succeeds. But, if the update fails for any reason, that backup is lost forever...along with your data. Instead, using the Desktop Software to regularly take good backups, as well as special runs of backups when doing updates, it what I recommend...you can find detailed backup instructions via the link in my auto-sig on this post.

 

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎12-02-2011
My Device: curve 8520
My Carrier: t-mobile

Re: Cannot run apps

Hi again i think i have miss lead you a bit.the update i attempted today was for a app, not the bbos.also i am not sure you fully understand my problem so here is what happen

Upto sometime last month i couid download apps and they would run without any problem, then all off a sudden after i downloaded a app i got the error message i mentioned in the original post and the app would not run, i tried a battery pull and the same thing appened, i tried reinstalling the app and again the same thing happened, i tried other apps and the same thing happened again.

i wounder if i do a restore before this date would this cure the problem or a restore to factory deualts

i don't think it is a sever error because all the other installed apps work and the phone works fine

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,165
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAH108), PRIV (AAH995), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Cannot run apps


chrisc123 wrote:

Hi again i think i have miss lead you a bit.the update i attempted today was for a app, not the bbos.


Ahhh...yes, that certainly is more clear. Thank you.


chrisc123 wrote:

 

Upto sometime last month i couid download apps and they would run without any problem, then all off a sudden after i downloaded a app i got the error message i mentioned in the original post and the app would not run, i tried a battery pull and the same thing appened, i tried reinstalling the app and again the same thing happened, i tried other apps and the same thing happened again.


OK...so this still needs Safe Mode to determine if it's causal. You should also remove that one app and see if things return to normal, in both Safe and Normal boot modes btw. It's also possible that the one app caused OS-level corruption, which will require an OS reload to cure.


chrisc123 wrote:

 

i wounder if i do a restore before this date would this cure the problem


No...restore is data only, not apps or OS. So, if the app caused OS-level corruption, restoring data to a prior point won't help.


chrisc123 wrote:

or a restore to factory deualts


Maybe...maybe not. Again, if the app caused OS-level corruption, then the ResetToFactory process won't help -- nor will any other WIPE processes, since they won't do anything with the OS...all they do is clear out data.

At this point, given all you've described, I'd recommend an OS reload...but I still refer you back to my earlier recommendation about getting a good and complete backup before you proceed...again, you can find complete instructions for that via the link in my auto-sig on this post. 

 

After that's complete, then please refer to this official download portal as you proceed. It is sorted first by carrier -- so if all you want are the OS levels your carrier supports, your search will be quick. However, some carriers are much slower than others to release updates. To truly seek out the most up-to-date OS package for your BB, you must dig through and find all carriers that support your specific model BB, and then compare the OS levels that they support.

From a PC, you can install any compatible (e.g., for your exact BB Model Number) OS package to a BB via this procedure:

Note that while written for "reload" and the Storm, it can be used to upgrade, downgrade, or reload any BB device model -- it all depends on the OS package you download and install to your PC. After installing the OS package to your PC, please remeber to delete, on your PC, all copies of VENDOR.XML...there will be at least one, and perhaps 2, and they will be located in or similarly to (it changes based on your Windows version) these folders:

  • C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Research In Motion\AppLoader
  • C:\Users\(your Windows UserName)\AppData\Roaming\Research In Motion\BlackBerry\Loader XML

Be sure that you remove, from your PC, any other BB device OS packages as having more than one installed to the PC can cause conflicts with this procedure.



You may also want to investigate the use of BBSAK (bbsak.org) to perform the wipe it is capable of.



You may also want to try the "Bare Bones OS Reload Procedure" to attempt to narrow down the precise causal item:

  1. Load your OS "bare bones"...if anything is optional, do not install it.
  2. If the behavior presents immediately, then try a different OS with step 1
  3. If the behavior does not immediately present, then run for as long as it takes for you to be sure that the behavior will not present.
  4. Add one thing -- no matter how tempting, just one.
  5. If the behavior does not present immediately, then again run for long enough to be sure it will not have the same problem
  6. Repeat steps 4 and 5 until all things are loaded or the behavior presents

When the behavior presents, you know the culprit...the last thing you loaded.

If the behavior does not re-present, then you know that either step 1 or 2 cured it.

If the behavior presents no matter what, then you likely have a hardware level issue for which no amount of OS or software can cure.



You may also need the use of these tricks:



If you are on MAC, you are limited to only your carriers sanctioned OS packages...but can still use any levels that they currently sanction. See this procedure:

  • KB19915How to perform a clean reload of BlackBerry smartphone application software using BlackBerry Desktop Software

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎12-02-2011
My Device: curve 8520
My Carrier: t-mobile

Re: Cannot run apps

ok i have already removed the last app before the problem started and i will remove twitter and natwest whitch are bugged (but the problem started before i installed these apps)  I will let you know how i get on

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,165
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAH108), PRIV (AAH995), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Cannot run apps

OK good luck! That is certainly an approach to attempt...not what I've recommended given your description, but nevertheless not wholly invalid.

Good luck!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................