Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Tr4
Contributor
My Device: Blackberry 8520
My Carrier: Bmobile

Re: Cannot send or receive emails after setting up outlook 2003 on bb

correction:
email: firstname.lastname@company.com
Tr4
Contributor

username eg: apple/jdoe
Hall of Famer III
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

[ Edited ]

Tr4 wrote:

its our carrier that says i cannot set up owa on the BIS site but rather on the handheld. 

Interesting...well, they control their BIS site. Typically, one can also ask the carrier agent to perform the configuration...the only drawback there being, of course, revealing your email account credentials to the agent. But, again, I have no experience with your specific carrier.

Tr4 wrote:

I was not sure what u meant by removing the owa configuration, but i did try to delete the owa url but it wont allow me to leave it blank.

so i deleted the email account again and started from scratch. 

What I meant was exactly what you eventually did...remove completely the configuration, inside of BIS, for this account, and start over from scratch.

Tr4 wrote:

basically this is what i entered

email : first.name@company.com

password: ***************

Outlook web access: https://mail.company.com

user name: domain name(company)\first intial and last name

mailbox name: first name.last name

i would recevie this message in the new email account:

Congratulations, you have successfully set up firstname.lastname@company.com with your blackberry device. You should begin receiving  new messages in approximately 20 minutes.

but i never do receive any messages and i get a general failure message when i try to send emails out. 

Up until that last bit, everything is exactly as it should be.