Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-10-2011
My Device: Curve 3G (9300)
My Carrier: 3
Accepted Solution

Change ID

How do I change the BB ID associated with a particular device?  I have recently been given a new BB Torch 9860 by my employers so I now have 2 BBs.  However, during setup I associated the new phone with my BB ID that is still in use on the other phone but it doesn't look like I can run both devices with the same ID - so so how do I remove the ID from the new one?

 

I will be keeping both phones so I guess I will need seperate IDs for both?

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,185
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAH108), PRIV (AAH995), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Change ID

Hello,

Yup...one BB ID can have one BB and one Playbook associated with it.

To change back, all that should be needed is to, from the old BB, log into your BB ID using the credentials you have...that should prompt it to shift the account over to that BB and remove the 9860 from the BB ID account. Then, on the 9860, create a new BB ID.

Good luck!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-10-2011
My Device: Curve 3G (9300)
My Carrier: 3

Re: Change ID

Thanks, I thought so.

 

I have tried this but I do not get a prompt to create a new ID on the new phone, only a request to switch the PIn bacl to the new one?  How do I get the new phone to ask for a new ID?

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,185
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAH108), PRIV (AAH995), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Change ID

As a 9860, it should be running OS 7, in which case this applies:

  • KB26694 How to change the BlackBerry ID on a BlackBerry PlayBook Tablet or BlackBerry Smartphone using BlackBerry Device Software 7

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-10-2011
My Device: Curve 3G (9300)
My Carrier: 3

Re: Change ID

Excellent, that worked well.  Thanks for your help