Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-19-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Connection Problem with ATT

I was excited to get my new Blackberry Bold with ATT a couple of weeks ago.  I came over from T Mobile to ATT, only because I wanted the BOLD.  I heard bad things about ATT before the switch but thought that it just had to be rumors.  I am now on my second phone and third sim card in 3 weeks.  ATT keeps trying to fix the connection issue but with no luck.  Their support number keeps telling me that they are working on towers in the area, but the people at the store say that everyone with 3G phones are experiencing difficulties.  I know the first response will be to check your coverage area.  I forgot to mention that I reside and work in a small town that some people refer to as "Chicago".  I have even heard that at one time it was the third largest city in the good old US of A (this fact can neither be confirmed nor denied at the present time).  I am not here to bash ATT but I just want my new phone to work.  It constantly cycles between 3G, Edge, and SOS, with it being on SOS most of the time.  Please Help!  I do not want to give up my Blackberry Bold.

Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎12-01-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Connection Problem with ATT

How long has 3G been in that area.  We just got 3G in Hagerstown and my Bold was constantly getting stuck in EDGE mode and I would have to take the battery out and put it back in.  I also had the SOS problem as well.  Recently we had a bad storm and now all of the sudden my phone switches from EDGE to 3G when needed.  Do not know if one has to do with the other (Probably not) but if 3G is new to your area this might be the culprit.  Generally if you go to the store most of the time they dont really know what they are talking about. 

Thanks

Phillips

 

Forums Advisor III
Posts: 1,078
Registered: ‎05-26-2008
My Device: 8300

Re: Connection Problem with ATT

Try forcing the devcie to stick to one network by looking under:

Options

 

 

Mobile network and try forcing the Network mode to be 3G, or 2G, etc...

 



Checked out my Blackberry FAQ's and Links to Needed Articles here
http://darkeen.homelinux.com/index.php/Blackberryfaq
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎02-17-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Connection Problem with ATT

This is not an issue with AT&T's network.  It is an issue with handheld code 4.6.  Stand by for a maintenance release sometime in the next month.  Please remember the iPhone 3G has much the same issue when it first release but after a software upgrade, it was dialed in. 
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-19-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Connection Problem with ATT

I am not sure when Chicago got the 3G network nor do I know where I could find that information.  To put some things into perspective, I work in the Chicago Board of Trade building (in the financial district) and live by Wrigley Field (home to the Chicago Cubs baseball team).  I think that it is ridiculous that I can not use my cell phone in those major areas of the city.  I am going to NYC this weekend for work so I guess I will find out if it will work in Times Square. 

 

The bigger issue came today.  This has happened before so I am getting use to the problem.  I forgot to tell you that on am on my second phone now and soon to be my third in a couple of hours.  When I woke up this morning my cell phone deleted a lot of the software on the phone.  I do not have Blackberry Messenger or Text Message icon on my phone.  When someone tries to text or instant message me, all I get are errors on the phone.

 

So basically I can not call people on my phone because I do not have service and I can not text someone because the application has been deleted.

 

Does anyone know some where I can go to get some help?  Feb 28 will be 30 days with ATT and I do not want to keep this situation if it’s not going to work.  I am kind of tired of running to the ATT store to get a new phone every couple of days.

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-19-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Connection Problem with ATT

UPDATE:

 

Just back from the ATT store.  They gave me ATT's 1-800 number.  The Blackberry "Specialist", told me that he was searching Blackberry Support Board for solutions to my phone issue.

 

Does anyone know where I can go to get a Blackberry Bold fixed.  I am willing to pay for a solution.  I just want my Blackberry Bold to work.  

 

Please HELP !!!

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-19-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Update Re: Connection Problem with ATT

The below is what I got from BlackBerry Customer Support.  Why cant anyone just help me?

 

I going back and forth between my service provider ( ATT ) and Blackberry.  They both blame each other.

 

Hello Josh,

Thank you for contacting BlackBerry Customer Support.

We received your email and request on the BOLD device, RIM can help you with you device but we charge for technical support where as your service provider would help for free and in the event that they fail to help, your case is then escalated to RIM and you still do not pay anything for the help.

In other word you are free to call RIM direct for a fee based support or you can call through your service provider. Our contact number is listed below

If you require further assistance, please don't hesitate to contact us.

Thank you again, Josh, for contacting us.

Sincerely,

Bekenkanyiso
BlackBerry Customer Support
Research In Motion Limited