Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-22-2013
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8310
My Carrier: Vodafone

Curve 8310 - Contact Dbase(s)

Hi,

I had some how ended up with three Desktop data bases for my contacts, each with a different number of records in.

 

I followed one of the online set of instructuctions for consolidating these dbases HOWEVER I managed to use the wrong set of instructions........  (I wont use the language that came to mind when i realised!)

 

I have backed up my bberry and all of the contact recrods are there (411), I can see them in the 'Select Data to Restore' window whilst my bberry shows only 99 records.  These 99 are clearly the 99 in the syncing contact dbase.

 

I have tried to restore the dbases to my bberry but cannot select the 'Address Book - All' to give me the 411 entries, and the restore just gives me the 99.

 

Can someone please help?

 

Thanks

Leon

Posts: 96,075
Likes: 24,627
Solutions: 6,422
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Curve 8310 - Contact Dbase(s)

Is the address book database in the Desktop Software restore window greyed out, or what happens?



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-22-2013
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8310
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Curve 8310 - Contact Dbase(s)

HI

Yes the database for the address book restore is greyed out and not selectable.

 

 

Highlighted
Posts: 96,075
Likes: 24,627
Solutions: 6,422
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Curve 8310 - Contact Dbase(s)

Article ID: KB04461 Unable to backup or restore some databases to a BlackBerry smartphone using BlackBerry Desktop Software



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-22-2013
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8310
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Curve 8310 - Contact Dbase(s)

Brilliant!

 

Thanks for that, worked great, all my contacts are now back on my bberry.

 

Now I just need to figure out which set of instructions I need to follow to combind the three desktop contact databases I have on my bberry into one and I'll be a very happy bunny!

 

Any Suggestions?

 

Posts: 96,075
Likes: 24,627
Solutions: 6,422
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Curve 8310 - Contact Dbase(s)

Great!

 

On your BlackBerry, what are the three names of the calendars you have separate?

Are they each connected to a different email account?



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-22-2013
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8310
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Curve 8310 - Contact Dbase(s)

All three are called 'Desktop' only one of which is syncing.

Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎01-22-2013
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8310
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Curve 8310 - Contact Dbase(s)

Sorry,

They, at some point or other, all connected to the same account, I woudl guess they became detatched at some point and another was created.

 

Thanks