Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-01-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Curve 8900 - strange errors?!

Hi everyone!

 

BB curve 8900; v4.4.1.310; Vodafone Portugal data plan.

 

I'm having this problem:

 

My emails work wonderfully, so do text msgs, mms; blackberry messenger, all ok, BUT all my other apps won't connect.

 

Facebook says: error 101 try again later.

BB App world says: java.lang.nullexception

browser via data plan: it gets stuck in "loading"

 

I can get them all working through Wifi though!

 

AND YET, they work from time to time...I will receive from time to time, for example, FB notifications on my FB app that I'd already received on my email (and not on the FB app at the same time)

 

I dunno...I've made several battery pulls; plugged it into my mac and updated, cleaned unused apps and themes, cleared space...

 

I need some help..

thank you all.

 

Posts: 94,685
Likes: 24,430
Solutions: 6,357
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Curve 8900 - strange errors?!

 


Spiritfilledrev wrote:

 

BB curve 8900; v4.4.1.310; Vodafone Portugal data plan.


What is your Operating System loaded to your device? Look at Options > About, third line down beginning with a "v.5.0.x.xxx", What is yours?

 

 

You can update your profile here to provide your BlackBerry device model and carrier name, so that when you have a question, that information won't need to be asked up front. Click on My Settings > Personal Information and then SAVE at the bottom of the page.


>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-01-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Curve 8900 - strange errors?!

Thanks for the reply!

 

So we have:

 

Blackberry (EDGE,WI-FI)

v4.4.1.310( platform 4.2.0.127)

Cryptographic Kernel v3.8.5.50a

Version: 1.0.46.35

 

I'll have to update my info, thank you!!!

 

Hope you can help me with my problem...

 

Thanks once more

Posts: 94,685
Likes: 24,430
Solutions: 6,357
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Curve 8900 - strange errors?!

I would specifically suggest you upgrade your operating system on the device. I don't even recall how old OS 4.4 might be (I thought the 8900 was released with 4.6).

 

Nevertheless, if your mobile service provider does not have an updated OS, if you can find a PC to use for upgrading, you can install any carriers most recent release. Let me know if you want instructions for doing that.

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-01-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Curve 8900 - strange errors?!

I will DEFINITELY need help in doing that.

I have a mac, so whenever I go to the blackberry site, I cant find the "update" button.

(or so they say, since they recommend you to use a windows environment)

 

talking to a not very savy tech person Smiley Happy how would you suggest me to do that?!

 

Thanks

Posts: 94,685
Likes: 24,430
Solutions: 6,357
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Curve 8900 - strange errors?!

Find a friend with a PC, you can use for a few hours.

 

I would recommend Desktop Manager, version 6. Download Desktop Manager from here:
https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/entry.do?code=A8BAA56554F96369AB93E4F3BB068C22

Use Desktop Manager to backup your BlackBerry first. If you don't already, you should do this on your own Mac Desktop for Blackberry as well.

 

 


See the link below, for the download and simple installation instructions.

1. Download the OS file to the PC then install it to the PC by running (double clicking) the file you downloaded.

 

https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/entry.do?code=06997F04A7DB92466A2BAA6EBC8B872D


2. Go to c:\program files\common files\research in motion\apploader and delete the file named "vendor.xml."


3. Plug in BB and double click on "Loader.exe." It's located in the same place as the above vendor.xml file.

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎10-01-2010
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Curve 8900 - strange errors?!

thanks!!I'll try that!!

 

Now let me find someone with a pc.....

 

Smiley Happy