Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

New Contributor
My Device: Bold 9780
My Carrier: 02

Customising Trays in Blackberry 6.0

I'm new to Blackberry 6.0 and whereas I certainly appreciate many of it's features I'm struggling to find shortcuts and workarounds to make my life simple. I'm confused because doing simple things like opening an sms message now takes me longer than it did with my old version 5.0 smartphone.

For openers. Is there a way to delete, hide or add trays? To be honest in my day to day useage all I want is one tray (logically "favourites") the rest can go hide. I find that the sensitive optical pad keeps shifting my trays along and its really annoying. Why can't I have a shortcut on my screen or device for that matter that opens an application without having to scroll around all the time?

I know its a new operating system but this seems fundamental.

Mark

Guru I
My Device: Passport, Playbook, 9320BES
My Carrier: Bouygues _ SFR

Re: Customising Trays in Blackberry 6.0

hello,

you are complaining because you do not like the behavior of the current trays (meaning, shifting left and right will switch to another tray whereas you do not wish that).

This complaint is only about that theme, which is the one provided by RIM when you bought the device. Fortulately, all you have to do is look for another theme that will behave differently. You can look directly in AppWorld in the "Themes" category. Or you can look here for dozens of themes : http://forums.crackberry.com/f227/

but I am curious, what was your previous device?

The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
New Contributor
My Device: Torch
My Carrier: Vodafone