Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Desktop Manager 4.6 vs 4.7

I just moved to BlackBerry, and I have a BB Bold.  The CD that came with the device has version 4.6 of the Desktop Manager.  Is there any benefit to upgrading to v4.7?

 

Thanks

 

Adam 

Posts: 94,686
Likes: 24,431
Solutions: 6,358
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Desktop Manager 4.6 vs 4.7

Yes, 4.7 works better and has less hangups during the backup process.

 

Download Desktop Manager from here:

https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/entry.do?code=A8BAA56554F96369AB93E4F3BB068C22



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Desktop Manager 4.6 vs 4.7

Thanks. I'll try it.
Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Desktop Manager 4.6 vs 4.7

Should I download 4.7 with Media Manager (212MB) or without (82MB). Are there any improvements to Media Manager in 4.7?

Thanks again. You've been very helpful.

Adam
Posts: 94,686
Likes: 24,431
Solutions: 6,358
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Desktop Manager 4.6 vs 4.7

You are welcome.

 

I personally would use the verson withOUT the Media Manager, its a large application to run and in my personal opinion, does not work all that well, and anything it does, you can separately with other better applications and with the Media Card in Mass Storage Mode.



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Developer
Posts: 5,339
Registered: ‎09-20-2008
My Device: ***
My Carrier: ***

Re: Desktop Manager 4.6 vs 4.7

You do not need Media Manager at all.

 

You can setup your device and desktop computer to transfer files directly to the device.

 

Check this instruction:

 

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/rim/board/message?board.id=BlackBerryDesktopSoftware&message.id=...

Contributor
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-23-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Desktop Manager 4.6 vs 4.7

I finally managed to download 4.7.  After I installed it, and connected my device for the first time (using 4.7), it offered to update my device software (not the Desktop Manager) as well.  I accepted, and it went through several procedures.

 

Just before it completed the update to the device software, I received ascary warning message stating that if I went ahead and completed the update, I would "not be able to use BlackBerry services unless I activate wirelessly" or something like that.  Not knowing what that message meant, I aborted the device software update.  My device is fine, but I would like to know what that message meant (activate wirelessly) and then possbily go ahead with the update.

 

On another note, even though I have updated to 4.7, I keep getting a notice that an update is available for my Desktop Manager, but when I view the update message, it's offering v4.t dated from June 5, which is what I have already installed.  Why is it offering to update to a version that I have just recently updated?

 

Thanks again.

 

Adam