Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,238
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAF518), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Desktop Manager Software will not detect Blackberry Curve 8320

OK. Well then I suggest going through this list of troubleshooting atricles...hopefully something will be useful:

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/BlackBerry-Desktop-Software/Tips-for-getting-BlackBerry-Deskt...
KB02640 Troubleshooting USB connections
KB15486 Top 10 BlackBerry smartphone and BlackBerry Desktop Manager troubleshooting tips
KB11439 BlackBerry Desktop Software does not detect the BlackBerry smartphone when it is connected
KB00019 No PIN displayed in BlackBerry Desktop Redirector
KB10938 "USB charging current is insufficient" appears on the BlackBerry smartphone
KB01451 How to turn on advanced synchronization logging if a wired synchronization fails

Also, check that you are using only root USB ports...no hubs (sometimes the front-side ports are hubs...use a rear USB port). And make sure to try disabling USB power management in your system configuration (Device Manager).

Apologies in advance if this is redundant -- there's no way to be sure if you've already seen and tried these.

Hopefully something there is helpful!

Cheers!



Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-04-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Desktop Manager Software will not detect Blackberry Curve 8320

I've figured it out! I tried all of your advice (thanks for that), and when none of it worked Smiley Happy I realized the problem must be elsewhere. If it's not software then it must be hardware... it turns out a few of the pins in the usb port on my phone were bent out of place. When I bent those back into place it connected just fine!

 

Thanks again.

New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-28-2009
My Device: Curve 8900
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Desktop Manager Software will not detect Blackberry Curve 8320

May I understand more how it worked with you??? I tried all trouble shooting from this forum and others and yet i still can not manage to connect my device to desk top manager on my Macbook Pro,

 

I REALLY NEED HELP!!!

Forums Veteran III
Posts: 3,795
Registered: ‎02-09-2009
My Device: Classic 10.3.2.798 OS + Playbook 64Gb

Re: Desktop Manager Software will not detect Blackberry Curve 8320

@ molook:

 

Hi and welcome to the forums! Smiley Happy

A couple of places for you to visit: Blackberry 101    Tips & Tricks

 

Try looking here:   BB for MAC

 

Happy to have you here! Smiley Very Happy

IrwinII
Please remember to "Accept as Solution" the post which solved your thread. If I or someone else have helped you, please tell us you "Like" what we had to say at the bottom right of the post.
Forums Veteran III
Posts: 3,795
Registered: ‎02-09-2009
My Device: Classic 10.3.2.798 OS + Playbook 64Gb

Re: Desktop Manager Software will not detect Blackberry Curve 8320

@ danep

 

Excellent job!  Smiley Happy  Very good troubleshooting.

 

Just keep coming back.  We love to have new members!    Smiley Very Happy

IrwinII
Please remember to "Accept as Solution" the post which solved your thread. If I or someone else have helped you, please tell us you "Like" what we had to say at the bottom right of the post.
Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-29-2009
My Device: RBT71UW

Re: Desktop Manager Software will not detect Blackberry Curve 8320

i have just purchased a blackberry bold need to know how i can enter my contact list on my computer and then copy to blackberry device

Forums Veteran III
Posts: 3,795
Registered: ‎02-09-2009
My Device: Classic 10.3.2.798 OS + Playbook 64Gb

Re: Desktop Manager Software will not detect Blackberry Curve 8320

Hi and welcome to the forums! Smiley Happy

A couple of places for you to visit: Blackberry 101     Tips & Tricks

 

Where are your contacts now?

Here is a list of apps that can sync with BB Desktop Manager (DM):   Apps supported for sync

 

Configure apps for sync with DM

 

Post back with where your are in the process and we can help.

 

Happy to have you here! Smiley Very Happy

IrwinII
Please remember to "Accept as Solution" the post which solved your thread. If I or someone else have helped you, please tell us you "Like" what we had to say at the bottom right of the post.
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-19-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Desktop Manager Software will not detect Blackberry Curve 8320


danep wrote:

I've figured it out! I tried all of your advice (thanks for that), and when none of it worked Smiley Happy I realized the problem must be elsewhere. If it's not software then it must be hardware... it turns out a few of the pins in the usb port on my phone were bent out of place. When I bent those back into place it connected just fine!

 

Thanks again.


 

I have had the exact same problem since I got my curve 4 months ago.  I took a thumbtack and bent the pins down...my computer recognized it right away...THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!  Be careful though because I broke the plastic piece that held the pins.

Forums Veteran III
Posts: 3,795
Registered: ‎02-09-2009
My Device: Classic 10.3.2.798 OS + Playbook 64Gb

Re: Desktop Manager Software will not detect Blackberry Curve 8320

Hi and welcome to the forums boomerang! Smiley Happy

A couple of places for you to visit: Blackberry 101 Tips & Tricks

Happy to have you here! Smiley Very Happy

IrwinII
Please remember to "Accept as Solution" the post which solved your thread. If I or someone else have helped you, please tell us you "Like" what we had to say at the bottom right of the post.
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-24-2010
My Device: Curve 8330
My Carrier: Sprint

Re: Desktop Manager Software will not detect Blackberry Curve 8330

I read through this whole thread and couldn't find a solution that worked for me.. then I finally figured it out, so I thought I'd post my success story.  I am running Windows 7 on a laptop which used to connect my Blackberry 8330 to my desktop manager no problem.. tonight I realized it wouldn't recognize my blackberry.  It always had before, but I hadn't tried in about 3 months.

 

The problem was that it was hung up on the "unknown device" listed in my device manager.  The driver install at some point had failed on this, so it no longer looked for it.  No matter which USB port I switched to it would not prompt for a driver install (because it had already failed at some point and marked it as an "unknown device").

 

Right clicking the "unknown device" to update the driver did no good with the windows update, so I uninstalled it, freeing it up.

 

Unplugging the USB and replugging in prompted to install the driver.  On Windows 7 it automatically goes looked for the Windows Update (which failed for me, so I hit cancel the 2nd time around).  After the cancellation, looking in device manager, I now saw a Blackberry device listed with the exclamation mark icon next to it.  Right clicking that allowed me the option to select where to look for the driver.  Select C:\ (and all subfolders) searched my hard drive for it.. in a few minutes it found one, and I Ok'd it.  Then it finally installed.

 

Desktop Manager now saw the device.  Problem solved.  No uninstall/reinstall of Desktop Manager.   What a colossal pain the **bleep** to figure out, but now it works.  I can see my method failing if you don't have the driver somewhere on your harddrive already (but I'll bet the Desktop Manager throws it into your harddrive somewhere when it installs, so you should have a good chance finding it).  I hope this helps somebody out there.