Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-28-2012
My Device: Torch 9810
My Carrier: AT & T

Desktop Manager doesn't detect my 9810, but computer does.

Hi, I have a Torch 9810 and the Desktop Manager doesn't detect it.

I am using Windows XP, have uninstalled and reinstalled the Manager, I'm using a usb cable, I have looked through forums but haven't seen a fix.

The Desktop Manager does start automatically when I plug the phone in.

The options appear on my phone.

I can access files on the phone through Windows.

I do not get any error messages.

 

So things seem to be almost there, it's just the Desktop Manager not detecting phone?

Any help much appreciated.

David

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,165
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAH108), PRIV (AAH995), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Desktop Manager doesn't detect my 9810, but computer does.

Duplicate:

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/BlackBerry-Torch/Torch-9800-won-t-connect-to-Desktop-Software...


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-28-2012
My Device: Torch 9810
My Carrier: AT & T

Re: Desktop Manager doesn't detect my 9810, but computer does.

yes, that's my post too... saw that board first. also don't know if issue is with phone or desktop software
Highlighted
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,165
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAH108), PRIV (AAH995), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Desktop Manager doesn't detect my 9810, but computer does.

[ Edited ]

Regardless...it's best to keep your issue to one thread...that way, the volunteers can have the benefit of "what has gone before". With this stand alone thread, unless someone digs (and most don't have time to do so...I just happened to recognize the duplication), they won't know what you've already discussed with others, and you risk receiving duplicated advice that already "didn't work".

 

You, of course, should be researching inside of all relevant areas of the site, just in case it's been solved by others...

 

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................