Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-23-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: **SOLVED** Desktop Software version 6 wont start

[ Edited ]

tried the .OLD rename fix, but didn't work

thanks

Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-16-2011
My Device: 9700

Re: **SOLVED** Re: Desktop Software version 6 wont start??

hey ma desktop working fine too dude..thnx a lt.....now i want to update my device to 6os is it fine and ok for bold 9700

New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-18-2011
My Device: Blackberry Storm 9500
My Carrier: Vodaphone

Re: **SOLVED** Re: Desktop Software version 6 wont start??

Thanks for the tip on renaming the extension on the file.

This worked for me as the blackberry Desktop Manager would not even load.

 

Once again

THANKS

Roadshow

Kevin R Young
Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-19-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Desktop Software version 6 wont start??

Hi,

I have the same problem. After upgrading my Bold 9700 to OS6, I have tried several times to install DM 6 but it crashes at start-up, only displaying the splash screen logo.

 

Several times, I have tried to desinstall, reboot, reinstall (even in different languages/regions)... to no avail. The phone operator tech support was not helpful either.

 

I only get the follow Microsoft parameters:

 

EventType : clr20r3     P1 : rim.desktop.exe     P2 : 6.0.1.18     P3 : 4cfdab9c
P4 : microsoft.practices.composite     P5 : 2.0.1.0     P6 : 4cfdaa3a     
P7 : 12b     P8 : 50     P9 : sclhiaanmqhkf4zdfpvvwejkphnm1zuj     

 

 

My system is WP (SP3) on a Netbook Lenovo S10.

 

I am experienced with this kind of material but can't figure out. 

Any advice ??

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-20-2011
My Device: Blackberry Torch, 9800
My Carrier: MTN

Re: Blackberry Desktop Manager Software version 6 wont start??

Hi,

 

I am running XP service Pack 3 and Office 2010.

 

I have downloaded the latest version of Desktop manager 6,  it installs, but wont start.

 

I just get the message windows message "Blackberry Desktop Manager has encountered a problem and needs to close.

 

Please advise.

 

 

New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎10-23-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Blackberry Desktop Manager Software version 6 wont start??

seems a lof of users are having this problem; "Blackberry Desktop Manager has encountered a problem and needs to close."

 

and either RIM can't, won't or doesn't care to fix the problem

 

this is why people are buying iPhones

New Developer
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎03-12-2009
My Device: Z10 STL 100-3
My Carrier: AT&T

Re: Blackberry Desktop Manager Software version 6 wont start??

You requested advice. I would provide log files for RIM engineers to analyze. Refer to mechanicus' post (08-27-2010 12:12 PM) in this thread. From the logs I provided, he/RIM discovered the cause of my issue and the recommended solution worked. Refer to my post (09-14-2010 01:46 PM). Good luck.

New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-19-2010
My Device: Bold 9700
My Carrier: T-Mobile UK

Re: Blackberry Desktop Manager Software version 6 wont start??

My renaming trick seems to working for many, a couple of pages back.

New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-18-2011
My Device: Blackberry Storm 9500
My Carrier: Vodaphone

Re: Blackberry Desktop Manager Software version 6 wont start??

Refer to "dnalevy" threads under the subject heading and find the one where he advises to change a blackberry manager file? to .old hit enter and then change it back to the original file name. The advice is at the bottom of a long log file report.

Hope this helps you

Regards Kevin y

Kevin R Young
New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-18-2011
My Device: Blackberry Storm 9500
My Carrier: Vodaphone

Re: Desktop Software version 6 wont start??

I tried a fix from a "dnalevy" thread under the subject heading. I would suggest you give it a go, can't hurt. The fix appears at the end of a long log file report and suggests adding a .old to the desktopmanager? file, hit enter and then go back and remove the extension. It worked for me.

Hope this helps.

Rgards Kevin y

Kevin R Young