Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-18-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Desktop wont let me Synch

I just got the 8300 series and am trying to synch my outlook to my phone.  When I load the desktop manager and try to synch I get an error message saying that "my computer must be connected to the internet in order to initially configure syncronization settings."

 

How do I set up the desktop to connect to the internet?

 

Thanks for the help

Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Desktop wont let me Synch

Hi and welcome to the forums!

I have never heard this one, congrat's your unique Smiley Happy

There shouldn't be any thing you should do to the desktop manager for the internet other than check for updates.

Do you have internet access on your PC?

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-18-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Desktop wont let me Synch

Yes I am connected- both wired and wireless... 

  On my old BB and previous DM I had no issues.  Since i got the new smartphone (Curve 8330) and DM v4.5 I have not been able to synch with Outlook.  I only use my Outlook for contacts and calendar.

 

When I pull up DM Properties there is USB-PIN connection.  Under the "Blackberry Router Configuration" there are no router addresses... is this where my problem is?

Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Desktop wont let me Synch

So you are trying to sync via USB?
Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-18-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Desktop wont let me Synch

Yes- BB is connected via USB.   I just disabled my Norton Internet Security and now am getting passed the initial connection error message. 

 

My new message from Intellasync is: "No applications configured for Synchonization"

New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-18-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Desktop wont let me Synch

Aha- figured it out... Thanks for the help anyway...
Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Desktop wont let me Synch

Reset your sync configuration options and go through the setup wized again, and you should be fine.

Let me know!

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter