Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-11-2008
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Does 8320 software work for the 8310?

[ Edited ]
I have recently moved and accidentally threw away my BB cd that came in the box with my BB. I'm trying to download the software but there isn't any for the 8310, only the 8320.. Is this ok to use?
Message Edited by wepeeler on 08-11-2008 07:10 PM
Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Does 8320 software work for the 8310?

 

Hi and welcome to the forums

"The software on the CD"  meaning the Desktop manager software to synch and backup files?

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-11-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Does 8320 software work for the 8310?

Yes, I have no software from the cd on my PC. I actually need it to just backup my contacts but if there is a newer OS, I would love that too Smiley Wink
Forums Veteran I
Posts: 1,546
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: 8120, Storm, 8200

Re: Does 8320 software work for the 8310?

who is your service provider.
*****************************************************************************
Click on KUDOS to appreciate our efforts and mark the thread RESOLVED if your issue is resolved.
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-11-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Does 8320 software work for the 8310?

[ Edited ]

ATT in the US...

 

They told me to come to blackberry.com as they can't provide me with another cd Smiley Sad

Message Edited by wepeeler on 08-11-2008 07:46 PM
Forums Veteran I
Posts: 1,546
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: 8120, Storm, 8200

Re: Does 8320 software work for the 8310?

you can download the desktop manager software from this linkto bck up your contacts.

also there is software for 8310 on this link, compare whats available for downlaod and what you have on your 8310 under Options> about

 

https://www.blackberry.com/Downloads/entry.do?code=577BCC914F9E55D5E4E4F82F9F00E7D4 

*****************************************************************************
Click on KUDOS to appreciate our efforts and mark the thread RESOLVED if your issue is resolved.
Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Does 8320 software work for the 8310?

ATT has not released the new 4.5 OS yet,  so if you get it ATT will not support it.

As far as the Desktop software the latest ver is 4.5 and you can get it from the grey software tab on the top of the page. I would suggest getting the latest BB USB drivers as well.

Here is the link for the drivers.

 

Download Software

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-11-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Does 8320 software work for the 8310?

So before I get too crazy here, should I install the drivers 1st and then the software?

 

And, should my in phone options> about specs match the specs in the link you sent?

 

Thanks alot guys Smiley Wink

Forums Veteran I
Posts: 1,546
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: 8120, Storm, 8200

Re: Does 8320 software work for the 8310?

download the desktop software first from the link i posted and then install it (BlackBerry Desktop Software v4.3 ).

 

then on your device go to options and about and check the version you have on device. ATT is currently offering this v4.2.2.312, and i am sure you alredy have this on your 8310

*****************************************************************************
Click on KUDOS to appreciate our efforts and mark the thread RESOLVED if your issue is resolved.
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-11-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Does 8320 software work for the 8310?

Will do.

 

I have an old version. I have 4.2.2.170 Smiley Sad