Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-04-2009
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

Does 8520 have tethered modem capability?

I cannot use my BB 8520 as a tethered modem!!! I really need it to have this function! Can someone pls help?
Posts: 96,078
Likes: 24,627
Solutions: 6,422
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Does 8520 have tethered modem capability?

Yes it does have that ability.

 

See this document for instructions:

 

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/KB05196



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-27-2010
My Device: BlackBerry Curve 8520
My Carrier: T-mobile

Re: Does 8520 have tethered modem capability?

does this have any additional fees or costs

 

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-29-2010
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: Tigo

Re: Does 8520 have tethered modem capability?

It will generally incur regular data transfer consts but keep in mind that your computer will consume much more data than your blackberry will.

Seth P. Mariscal
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-04-2010
My Device: Blackberry 8520
My Carrier: 02

Re: Does 8520 have tethered modem capability?

I tried the solutions to this question and followed step by step instructions to set up tethering capabilities. However was not successful. Can you tell me why after I complete steps to dial up, I get a message lstating Error message saying the control protocol was terminated

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-27-2011
My Device: curve
My Carrier: Fido

Re: Does 8520 have tethered modem capability?

I am having the same issue...and its not because I use a macbook...on my system in the advanced settings before I click connect I go to modem and it shows the device to be a 8300 instead of my 8520...when I click connect it says "an error occurred with the modem. Try reconnecting. If the problem continues verify your settings and contact your administrator." ... I've contacted my "administrator" and they were unnable to give me a clear answer as to why it won't work or if it even has the capability to be used as a modem..I need an answer!! Has anyone actually done it themselves using a 8520????!!?!?
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-27-2011
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Does 8520 have tethered modem capability?

I am also incurring the same problem even after following each step carefully and repeatedly..... Kindly provide an appropriate solution to this unceasing probem to prevent us being unconvinient with our RIM Smartphones.

Posts: 96,078
Likes: 24,627
Solutions: 6,422
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Does 8520 have tethered modem capability?

You are incurring what same problem?

Please be specific.



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-27-2011
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: Does 8520 have tethered modem capability?

The same problem of receiving the SAME error that 'the control protocol was terminated'....