Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎12-23-2011
My Device: Blackberry Bold 9900
My Carrier: Vodafone

Does BBM work without BB data plan?

Hello, I have searched a little bit about this subject but everybody says something different. In few days I will buy a BB Bold 9900. I won't have a Blackberry Data Plan. Can I use BBM with wi-fi? I have read some places that some people are talking about using BBM on wi-fi when they are overseas when they don't use their data plan. Is it something possible?

 

Thank you so much for your help.

Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Does BBM work without BB data plan?

Hi and welcome to the forums!

 

Yes you do need a data plan.

Thanks

 

BIfocals


Blackberry Messenger release notes

"Requirements

  • At least 5.0 MB of available application storage
  • BlackBerry® Device Software 5.0 or later
  • A wireless service data plan"

Depending on your wireless service provider or organization, you might not be able to use BlackBerry® Messenger.

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

Posts: 95,198
Likes: 24,505
Solutions: 6,380
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Does BBM work without BB data plan?

In addition to what Bifocals stated, those you've read about traveling and using WiFi, that is possible to turn off your mobile network connection and use the WiFi connection for BBM, only AS LONG AS you do have the BIS Data Plan on your account. That way you don't have to pay the mobile data roaming charges while out of the country, but you still have to have the data plan on your account.



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎10-31-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Curve 8520
My Carrier: CCT Boatphone

Re: Does BBM work without BB data plan?

QUICK ANSWER YES YOU NEED A BB DATA PLAN!

"Rozayy"
Posts: 95,198
Likes: 24,505
Solutions: 6,380
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Does BBM work without BB data plan?


SafariRozay wrote:

QUICK ANSWER YES YOU NEED A BB DATA PLAN!


Not as quick as the first two!  Smiley Wink



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎10-31-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Curve 8520
My Carrier: CCT Boatphone

Re: Does BBM work without BB data plan?

And your point is?

"Rozayy"