Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

New Contributor
My Device: Storm

Download desktop software before buying phone?

I'm an iPhone user but am getting ready to buy my first BlackBerry...possibly the Storm when it comes out, or some other model if Storm is crazily expensive.  My question is that if I download the Desktop Software 4.3 now, can I begin to input/import contact info and other data on my desktop, then when I actually have the phone I could just synch all this very quickly?  My contact info and other date will come from various sources so this process could get complicated and messy.  Does this make sense, or it it even possible?  I'm an independent consultant so this BlackBerry will be for personal use....no corporate network involvement.  I'm using a Compaq Presario desktop running Vista Home Premium.

Elite I
My Device: 9800 - OS 6.0.0.246

Re: Download desktop software before buying phone?

You can input your contact data into Outlook or whatever you're using, then setup the sync options once you get your device. But the sync process would only take place once your BlackBerry is connected to the computer with the mini-usb cable.
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________
If someone has been helpful please consider giving them kudos by clicking the star to the left of their post.
Remember to resolve your thread by clicking Accepted Solution.
New Contributor