Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-27-2011
My Device: Torch 9860
My Carrier: ATT

Empty Screen in BB Desktop Software under Sync Contacts

Hi,

 

VERY NEW at BB, I just bought my first ever!  Everything works fine, but on my desktop software screen I have no contacts. Is the BB Desktop Software not reading my Mac Address Book contacts? Is there a special setting on either program?  I thank you all in advance for your sage advice!

Retired
Posts: 4,285
Registered: ‎07-26-2010
My Device: Q10/Q5/Z10/9930/9860/9310

Re: Empty Screen in BB Desktop Software under Sync Contacts

Hey pdlc,

Welcome to the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

 

What version of Mac OS are you running?  Also do you know if you have iCloud enabled?

 

I look forward to your reply.


-ViciousFerret


 


Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on Twitter! @BlackBerryHelp


Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Click  Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!



Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-30-2011
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: Empty Screen in BB Desktop Software under Sync Contacts

Hi,

 

I'm having the same problem with my BB Curve 8520. I've upgraded to Mac OS 10.7.2. Yes, I do have iCloud activated. In the Mac Address Book if I change the Preferences from Default Account: iCloud to On My Mac it makes no difference to the Contacts field of BB Desktop Software - there is still nothing there.

 

Any suggestions on how to get the BB Desktop Software to recognise the Mac Address Book?

New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-27-2011
My Device: Torch 9860
My Carrier: ATT

Re: Empty Screen in BB Desktop Software under Sync Contacts

Hi,

 

THANK YOU SO MUCH for replying!  I am running Lion 10.7.2.  I do have iCloud enabled.

 

Again, thank you for your help!

 

P.

Retired
Posts: 4,285
Registered: ‎07-26-2010
My Device: Q10/Q5/Z10/9930/9860/9310

Re: Empty Screen in BB Desktop Software under Sync Contacts

Hey pdlc,

You will need to disable iCloud to make the synchronization work properly.


-ViciousFerret


 


Come follow your BlackBerry Technical Team on Twitter! @BlackBerryHelp


Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Click  Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!



New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-12-2012
My Device: Pearl2
My Carrier: n/a

Re: Empty Screen in BB Desktop Software under Sync Contacts

You can't be serious. You are asking to disable a perfectly fine working and desired (!) feature in order to use your product? You must be kidding. 

 

The desktop manager on the mac right now seems rather broken and useles. I too have an empty contact box. Calendar however works.

 

You seem to claim that's due to iCloud being enabled. This makes no sense. Why would Calendar work but not Contacts. Both of them are also synced via iCloud. 

 

This needs to be fixed fast if RIM doesn't want to fall further behind.

 

Without that sync support right now my blackberry is a useless piece of plastic.