Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-19-2012
My Device: Blackberry Curve 9300
My Carrier: )2

Enabling My Curve 9300 as a Mobile Hotspot - Is This Possible?

I have just bought a Microsoft Surface table. This does not have a 3G option. One thought is to access 3g via my Blackberry Curve 9300. Many mobiles can be enabled as a hotspot. Is this possible with the 9300?

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 59,102
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Enabling My Curve 9300 as a Mobile Hotspot - Is This Possible?

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

 

Please refer to this KB:

  • KB31857 How to setup and manage a Mobile Hotspot Connection

As you see, it's not your BB model number that matters, but rather your BB OS level, your data plan from your carrier (not all allow such), as well as any impact from BES (if you are on such).

  • KB23393 How to check the model number and version of installed BlackBerry device software on a BlackBerry smartphone

Good luck!

 


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎11-19-2012
My Device: Blackberry Curve 9300
My Carrier: )2

Re: Enabling My Curve 9300 as a Mobile Hotspot - Is This Possible?

Hi

 

Thank you, both for your very prompt help and your wafm welcome.

 

Unfortunately, checking via the About option within Options, my device is a 9300 and the latest operating system supported seems to be V6 (I don't think that this supports Mobile Hotspot). I suspect that I may need to check what device options may become available under my contract. (I don't want or need to pay more.)

 

Kind regards

 

Malcolm

Highlighted
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 59,102
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Enabling My Curve 9300 as a Mobile Hotshot - Is This Possible?

You are probably right...check this thread:

The last few posts are a discussion re the 9300 and it's inability to handle OS7.

 

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................