Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-04-2012
My Device: torch 9810
My Carrier: telus

Error 102 on BB torch 9810

I keep getting an "Error 102 Reload Software for furhter information please visit: www.blackberry.com/102" message. There is a Reset button below that and when I press it, it just tries to restart my blackberry.  It will load to a certain point and then come back to this Error message.  I went to the website it suggests and it tells me to go onto my Blackberry Desktop Manager and reload my software.  I tried to do this, but my Desktop Manager and my smart phone will not connect and so I can't reload my software. I am not sure what to do and need some advice ASAP!

Regular Contributor
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎10-09-2011
My Device: Blackberry Torch 9810 and Blackberry Curve 9320
My Carrier: DU

Re: Error 102 on BB torch 9810

Ya you need to reload your software again. There is some software issues that casues this error. To reload it you need to use the application loader.

 

Look at this article as it explains step by step on reloading the OS:

 

How to do a clean reload

 

When you downloaded the OS make sure to delete the "vendor.xml" file.

 

Inform us about the result

Click on "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved so other people on the community can quickly find and solve the similar problems they are facing. To give thanks, click on thumbs up
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-17-2012
My Device: Blackberry Bold 9900
My Carrier: o2

Re: Error 102 on BB torch 9810

I am having EXACTLY the same problem and don't know what to do as my phone WILL not connect to the Desktop Software so I can't back my files up. Have you fixed this or have any ideas please??? 

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,244
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAF518), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Error 102 on BB torch 9810


yazboo1 wrote:

I am having EXACTLY the same problem and don't know what to do as my phone WILL not connect to the Desktop Software so I can't back my files up. Have you fixed this or have any ideas please??? 



Hi and Welcome to the Community!

Here is a KB that discusses that error:

  • KB10068 "JVM 102" error is displayed on the BlackBerry smartphone

Hopefully it contains something useful! There also are multiple existing threads on this site that discuss that exact error...your review of those might prove useful, and a search of this site, using the error message, error code, or symptom, should reveal all applicable existing threads to you.

 

Sadly, in this condition, your data is most likely already gone...and so performing a backup now would be pointless, even if possible. Your recourse will be using your most recent regularly conducted backup -- you do that, right? Conduct regular backups? There are two FREE methods that RIM provides to do so (the Desktop Software and BB Protect). As with insurance, the time to take backups is BEFORE the problem arises where restore is needed.

Good luck and let us know!



Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-21-2012
My Device: 9810
My Carrier: Vodacom

Re: Error 102 on BB torch 9810

Hi

I have the same problem and just can not get a solution. Have you fixed you blackberry already ? Please let me know if there is a way to fix it or did I loose my phone.

Thanks  

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,244
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAF518), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Error 102 on BB torch 9810


DDMare wrote:

Hi

I have the same problem and just can not get a solution. Have you fixed you blackberry already ? Please let me know if there is a way to fix it or did I loose my phone.

Thanks  


Hi and Welcome to the Community!

 

There are plenty of solutions posted, including in this thread as well as dozens of others. Please search for those and try what they already recommend. Given the volume of information already available, I am reluctant to provide you with anything further as, from your words, I've no idea what you have already attempted. But I am confident that, if you search, you shall find solutions that will work for you.

 

Good luck and let us know!



Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................