Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,649
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Error message "Insert SIM Card"

Huh? Now I'm confused...earlier you said you borrowed this BB from your daughter for this trip...which naturally led me to believe that you'd not used this exact BB on ICE before. Now you say it worked last year. So I am a bit confused as to the specifics of your situation. But no matter...my confusion is not relevant.

In any event, the SIM card provider is indeed an excellent place to seek more help. Not all SIMs are perfectly compatible with all BBs. And they may have a tech who can, with their hands on the device, figure this out.

Good luck!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎01-17-2013
My Device: blackberry pearl 9100
My Carrier: ICE (Costa Rica) usually Rogers

Re: Error message "Insert SIM Card"

Just wanted to let you know that I have my daughter's blackberry up and running.  This is the second year I borrowed her outdated phone to use in Costa Rica.  Last year I went to an ICE outlet and it worked fine.  This year I went to a convenience store and you know the results.  I took it back yesterday and guess what - they had it in sideways.  I was very happy.  I still have trouble typing on it (don't think I have Blackberry fingers).


Thanks again for your help.  I really thought it was a problem in the phone.  We seniors need lots of help (just ask my daughter).

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,649
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Error message "Insert SIM Card"

Oh! Now I understand better! Thanks.

Strange though...inserting the SIM sideways should be, well, impossible. But no matter...the key is that it's now working for you.

You are very welcome...and good luck!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-05-2014
My Device: Blackberry 9800
My Carrier: Unlocked

Re: Error message "Insert SIM Card"

Hello I need some help with my blackberry 9800
I got the phone off my mate and he was using it before me and it worked perfectly with him then he reset the phone, he gave me the phone so I can use for work so I brought a new sim card and it keeps saying insert sim card and has a red SOS were the signal goes I have reset it myself an still no diference I have tried a 02 sim card an still no difference and a tmobile sim card an yet still no difference
So please get back in touch with me asap.
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,649
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Error message "Insert SIM Card"


Tyrone2034 wrote:
Hello I need some help with my blackberry 9800
I got the phone off my mate and he was using it before me and it worked perfectly with him then he reset the phone, he gave me the phone so I can use for work so I brought a new sim card and it keeps saying insert sim card and has a red SOS were the signal goes I have reset it myself an still no diference I have tried a 02 sim card an still no difference and a tmobile sim card an yet still no difference
So please get back in touch with me asap.

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

 

If you are attempting to use this device on a different carrier from your mate, and that carrier is the original carrier for the device, then it's likely that the device was never unlocked from it's original carrier. Refer:

Further, hopefully your mate carried out all that is in this KB:

  • Article ID: KB05099 Steps to take before selling or after buying a previously owned BlackBerry smartphone

It is also possible that the carrier you are attempting to use it on uses radio technologies that the device does not support...you need to talk to the carrier to find out if their network supports your specific BB device.

 

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-05-2014
My Device: Blackberry 9800
My Carrier: Unlocked

Re: Error message "Insert SIM Card"

It's says disabled on everything meaning it's unlocked but still I'm getting no look
Highlighted
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,649
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Error message "Insert SIM Card"

No "look"? Hmmm...maybe that's "luck"...

In any event, that's only a portion of the things I gave you above. Please check the rest.

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................