Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-16-2008
My Device: Not Specified

GPRS probs

Hi,

I am a happy user of BB 8300 Curve on Cosmote Greece.

 

I've noticed smth strange with my device which causes mulfunctions and was wondering whether you could help.

 

So on the top of my Screen there is this GPRS indicator. When it is written GPRS everything works perfectly, but sometimes it is written gprs (lower case) and it only works as a phone, and i do not have access to my e-mail accounts or any other internet related options.

 

Anybody has a solution for my prob?

 

Thanks a lot,

 

Ilias

Forums Advisor III
Posts: 1,267
Registered: ‎06-19-2008
My Device: AT&T BOLD OS 4.6.0.167

Re: GPRS probs

The lower case letters just mean that your signal has dropped a little weaker. Like when mine says EDGE all is good. But when it says edge I cannot access the browser. It is all about signal strength and it is normal. Hope this helps.
~Lorrie~ Master of All Things Blackberry!
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-16-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: GPRS probs

Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

 

The thing is that the signal is very strong where i am located (at my office) and all of this happens out of the blue.....

 

i don't know if a software update would help solve the prob.

 

Thanks,

 

Ilias

Forums Advisor III
Posts: 1,267
Registered: ‎06-19-2008
My Device: AT&T BOLD OS 4.6.0.167

Re: GPRS probs

Mine too. I really do just think that the reception drops randomly. Unless someone has a better idea. I would be happy to hear it.
~Lorrie~ Master of All Things Blackberry!
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-16-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: GPRS probs

Hi again Smiley Happy

 

After trying for a month or so to figure out what's going on the problems still exist....

 

The final try was to update my software version which i did today, but the problems still exist....

 

GPRS goes all the time into gprs and i have no connectivity through my browser or my emails....

 

Anyone has an idea???

Guru I
Posts: 19,020
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Passport, Playbook, 9320BES
My Carrier: Bouygues _ SFR

Re: GPRS probs

how many antenna bars do you have ?



The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-16-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: GPRS probs

All 5 of them!!!!

 

my signal at the office and at home is always at full

Guru I
Posts: 19,020
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Passport, Playbook, 9320BES
My Carrier: Bouygues _ SFR

Re: GPRS probs

hello,

if I were you I'd contact my carrier.



The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too: