Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎07-21-2008
My Device: Not Specified

GPS on 8130 on telus network not working right-letter to Rim employees

This is a copy of the reply I posted in response to a bb specialist trying to lie about what is wrong with the internal gps systems. 

 

To all Rim employees on BB forums and other forums.  Please answer this for me.   I bought the bb pearl 8130 through telus.  I couldn't get the gps to work hardly at all with BB Maps or google maps.  I returned it for a new one and it worked great the first few times I used it on all the programs.  Then it stopped working properly again.  I am determined to get a phone that does what it says it does so I returned it again.  Sure enough the first few times it worked awesome on allprograms but now it is off and on again.  Obviously there is some glitch with the software or something.  It works perfect and then all of a sudden doesn't.  You guys need to get your act together and get this fixed.  It is obe of the reasons I bought the phone and it is adbertised on both Telus' and your websites.  I think it is a disgrace that you guys have not come up with a solution yet-satisfy your loyal customers-treat us like we are important and quit trying to say in round about words that the gps works better on Telus Navigator.  It should work lie a high quality GPS receiver.  I am on the $100 a month planwith voice and dats combined)-thats $3600 over three years-I think this should be enough money to have advertised functions work.  I am sure you have lost some loyal customers already and I will make sure everyone knows about the lack of urgency regarding this issue-lets get a fix now so us bb owners can use the gps function all the time not once out of 20 tries.  I am sure if you guys get this fixed we will show alot of respect back and start referring tons of our friend to Rim.  Please reply as soon as possible.  Kevin Miehm  kevinmiehm@rogers.com

New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-26-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: GPS on 8130 on telus network not working right-letter to Rim employees

I to have the same problem with my telus bb 8130. The only solution i have come up with is to load the telus navigator on the phone. Haveing this program running enables the GPS module. Once the Telus Navigator is running i can use the BB maps and the google maps. The GPS tracking works with in 10-30 meters of your location not like the 1400-1500 meter radius when the GPS module is not on and the phone is using the towers to triangulate your postion. I have complained to both telus and blackberry and been advised that 4.5.0 software will be avaliable through telus to update the firmware on the phone. Good luck with your phone. Im hoping to pick up a Storm soon.
Contributor
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎11-21-2008
My Device: Verizon 8130 OS 4.5.0.77

Re: GPS on 8130 on telus network not working right-letter to Rim employees

I can feel your pain, that was my whole aggravation with my 8130 from Verizon.   The phone was advertised with a GPS, it is preloaded with BB maps and I refuse to pay Verizon $10 more a month for Navigator so that the internal GPS works when it should've worked right out of the box.

 

I bought the Freedom BT Keychain receiver, paired it to the phone, set it as my default GPS, works great with BB maps, Google Maps and Windows Live Search.

Elite I
Posts: 6,269
Registered: ‎10-04-2008
My Device: STORM 9550 Verizon <><

Re: GPS on 8130 on telus network not working right-letter to Rim employees

Thanks for that info! It frustrates me too to have to pay the extra money to verizon. I am not doing it either!

 

 

happy thanksgiving


Smiley Happy Smiley Happy Nurse-Berry Smiley Happy Smiley Happy
_____________________________________________________________
Follow NurseBerry08 on Twitter
Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: GPS on 8130 on telus network not working right-letter to Rim employees

Hi miehmer,

 

I would stongly suggest you remove your personal email from the post.

 

Jut trying to be safe, it's a public forums.

 

Thanks

Bifocals

 

 

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

Highlighted
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-08-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: GPS on 8130 on telus network not working right-letter to Rim employees

[ Edited ]

I got the same problem, my blackberry 8130 gps (google map, BB maps, ...) work only if the telus navigator is running in background now.

 

Before i've install telus navigator, all was working good.

 

Someone have a solution to fix that **bleep**?

Message Edited by diok on 04-08-2009 10:35 AM