Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-08-2011
My Device: Blackberry Curve 3G 9300
My Carrier: O2
Accepted Solution

GPS?

Hi

 

I am new to the forum and Blackberry phones.

 

I like to run and have downloaded the Adidas miCoach app for my Blackberry 3G 9300.

 

My question is do you need to turn WiFi on to have access to GPS function? I find myself ready to go for a run and waiting for a GPS connection with no luck, I had done about 2 miles last time before stopping and checking, i enabled WiFi and it worked, not sure if this was only luck or not though.

 

Note: Can't seem to use GPS in the Maps part of my phone either, just never finds a satellite

Posts: 95,499
Likes: 24,546
Solutions: 6,396
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: GPS?

No, WiFi need not be on for GPS to work on this device. As a matter of fact, out running most people wouldn't even access to WiFi.

 

Your GPS will work (to locate your latitude/longitude) even without a SIM card.

But, one must have a data plan to use and receive mapping data.

 

On all model BlackBerrys, first make certain that you in an area of good signal coverage AND outside with a clear view of the sky in an open area of no tall buildings.

For GSM network devices, do this:
Click Options > Advanced > GPS > Menu > Refresh GPS.
Give it up to 10 minutes to refresh, and try 2-3 times in a row.
For the 9800 model:
1. On the Home screen or in a folder, click the Options icon.
2. Click Device > Location Settings.
3. Press the Menu key > Refresh GPS.



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎02-08-2011
My Device: Blackberry Curve 3G 9300
My Carrier: O2

Re: GPS?

Hi

 

That seems to have worked a treat.

 

Many Thanks

Posts: 95,499
Likes: 24,546
Solutions: 6,396
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: GPS?

You are very welcome.

Good luck.



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-20-2013
My Device: torch 9300
My Carrier: O2

Re: GPS?

I, too, am having a problem with my GPS.  It always worked a treat but recently it has decided that it would no longer! i use it to go running with Addidas MiCoach.  However despite the fact that the sky is crystal clear, it can find no satellites.  Have tried the refresh GPS etc., to no avail.  Still searching for satellites. Finding it very frustrating indeed - was assured that if I put the new update on my phone it would resolve this difficulty.  It hasn't.  Any ideas?

Posts: 95,499
Likes: 24,546
Solutions: 6,396
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: GPS?

Can you try installing Google Maps?

 

From your browser, go to www.google.com/maps

Choose the Maps link.

You should be given the download choice.

Install it.

Do a simple reboot on the BlackBerry in this manner: With the BlackBerry device POWERED ON, remove the battery for a minute, and then reinsert the battery to reboot.

Open Google Maps.

Does it locate you specifically within 5-20 meters, with a small blue dot? (give it a minute to locate you close if it only first shows a BROAD light blue umbrella, or says "within 1000-3000 meters).



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-20-2013
My Device: torch 9300
My Carrier: O2

Re: GPS?

That all worked fine but if I go into MiCoach, it still is unable to locate any satellites, despite a clear sky and totally in the open.  I think I have accepted that this no longer works with my Blackberry and I'll wait for my upgrade which is due in July.  Not sure if I will go to another Blackberry now though!

Posts: 95,499
Likes: 24,546
Solutions: 6,396
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: GPS?


molly1607 wrote:

That all worked fine


Whoa! lol, Google Maps found you within a few meters, only a small blue dot?

 

If so, your GPS appears working fine.

Check your GPS refresh screen again, does it locate you specifically with a latitude or longitude?

 

Finally, remove the MiCoach app, reboot and reinstall again. Hopefully that will work for you.



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code