Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Contributor
My Device: Tour 9630
My Carrier: Sprint

General suggestions

I am new to Blackberry devices. Just a few suggestions after 3 weeks with my Tour 9630.

1 - I love the indicators above telling me I have an emails, SMS, etc. Why not allow me to scroll to them, click, and go straight to the item?

2 - The keyboard needs some improvements

•  The "." and "$" should be swapped, with the "$" over the "M" and the "." under the Speakerphone function. The "$" requires no Alt press while the "." does, and the "." is used extensively. That is simply terrible design.
  • You should be able to lock the caps or numbers beyond one keypress. The treo does that well.

3 - No Predictive Text? How can that feature be missing? Very basic stuff.

Just my opinion...

OS v5.0.0.484
Forums Advisor III
My Device: 8330

Re: General suggestions

You should be able to lock the caps or numbers beyond one keypress. The treo does that well.

For caps-lock, press alt+right shift

For num-lock, press alt+left shift

Press shift to release

Using period "."

Press the space button twice and it automatically adds a period

No Predictive Text? How can that feature be missing? Very basic stuff.

Go into Options>Auto Text

You can create short forms e.g. if you type "mypin" and press space, it will automatically show your pin.

You can create your own custom text that is replaced by something you want.

Look through the tips and tricks for your phone. Not all the features are the same as other phones, but there are different or similar ones in most cases. Spend the time initially to get to know the phone and it will grow on you Smiley Very Happy 

http://na.blackberry.com/eng/support/blackberry101/tips/

Kijana
Please remember to: