Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-10-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Ghost in the BB?

New to forums, so thanks for all the good info.

 

I have got a seriously strange issue.  My 8830 is sitting on the table and all of the sudden it goes to the compose mail menu, chooses compose mail, then saves as a draft and closes.  Then it does it again immediately.  The blackberry did this 30 times in less than 2 minutes.

 

I did not touch a thing, and the times it does this are totally random.

 

Any clues?  I have removed the battery several times.  I also installed the new OS.   

Thanks,

Jonathan 

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎05-12-2008
My Device: 8830

Re: Ghost in the BB?

Ooooooo this is goooood. Please let me know what it does next;-)
Phil
Forums Advisor III
Posts: 1,078
Registered: ‎05-26-2008
My Device: 8300

Re: Ghost in the BB?

Hi,

 

The OS is corrupt.

Unfortunately you will need to reload the OS.

Remember to backup first so you can restore the data after (just in case you forget to choose the backup option during trhe OS upgrade/reload!)

 

 



Checked out my Blackberry FAQ's and Links to Needed Articles here
http://darkeen.homelinux.com/index.php/Blackberryfaq
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-10-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Ghost in the BB?

Negative.  It was doing it before I downloaded the new OS, and after the download/install of the new OS.
Highlighted
Forums Advisor III
Posts: 1,078
Registered: ‎05-26-2008
My Device: 8300

Re: Ghost in the BB?

I'm positive that the OS is corrupt.

it doesnt matter if you were downloading a new OS at the time or if its still doing it with the new OS, the fact still remains that the OS is still corrupt and needs to be reloaded.

Make sure ot backup the data prior (if you want to keep the data).

Make sure that you choose to wipe the devcie (Delete all currently installed apps) and NOT to reload the data.

Now restore the data from a backup, should you wish.

 



Checked out my Blackberry FAQ's and Links to Needed Articles here
http://darkeen.homelinux.com/index.php/Blackberryfaq