Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎08-29-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Google Calendar Sync to Blackberry Problems

I have a Blackberry Curve 8310 (BB) on ATT (AT&T) Wireless Network. I'm on the EDGE (not edge) network right now.

 

I am trying to sync my BB with my Google calendar. I have downloaded and deleted the program several timesover the past few days. It worked one time (the very first time) and then stopped. Nothing I've tried has gotten it to work again.

 

I am able to log in (although only recently before that the login would just hang). Now the sync fails and I get the message "Sync Failed

Please try again later, if the problem persists try signig out of sync and signing in again"

I have tried signing out. I select "sign out", then "delete" (because there's nothing synced to delete) and then It just hangs and then I delete the program.

 

The LED does not seem to flash at any point. I'd read that green flashing indicates data is being transfered. So I'm not sure that my BB is sending anything anywhere.

 

Somebody please help

Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎08-29-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Google Calendar Sync to Blackberry Problems

One other thing:

I'm not sure if signing in with the "@gmail.com" makes any difference

Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Google Calendar Sync to Blackberry Problems

[ Edited ]

Hi and welcome to the forums!

 

First the green flashing LED means you are in a coverage area.

If you look in the upper left of the screen you will see two blue arrows (outbound up and inbound down) when you see these blinking and active is when you are sending and receiving data.

 

Please tell me what model phone and what operating sys is on the phone

Go to ( OPTIONS - ABOUT ) version will look look 4.x.x.xxx

Thanks! 

 

 

 

Message Edited by Bifocals on 08-29-2008 02:40 PM
Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎08-29-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Google Calendar Sync to Blackberry Problems

Hi. Thanks for getting back to me.

It's a Curve 8310

4.2.2.170.

 

I don't see the arrows indicating data being sent or received. I hope that helps you diagnose the problem. And I can't sign in, or it seems that I can't b/c the application seems to hang on the log in.

Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Google Calendar Sync to Blackberry Problems

Hi,

"i have downloaded and deleted the program several times"  Which programs?

 

" I am unable to log in now I get sync failed" from Google?

 

Are you using Goolgle calender on your desktop and google sync on t your BB?

Please let me know!

Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎08-29-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Google Calendar Sync to Blackberry Problems

I have installed and uninstalled the google sync program several times from google updater on my BB.

 

I haven't downloaded anything from google to my desktop. I am using google calendar on a mozilla firefox version 3.0.1 browser.

 

I'm do frequently sync from my BB to outlook through BB desktop software. The whole goal here is to be able to see the events scheduled for my groups on my BB and to be able to sync them to outlook and google back to google calendar so that my google groupswill know when I'm busy or free.

 

Thanks

Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Google Calendar Sync to Blackberry Problems

[ Edited ]

Thanks, that really helped,

Please give me a minute to do some searches on this for you

be back shortly!

OK?

 

I found a Google mobile sync forum I will give you the link to:

 

http://groups.google.fr/group/google-sync-for-mobile/msg/29d44989276d7ac6

 

Lets try this:

 

Go to OPTIONS -ADVANCED OPTIONS -APPLICATIONS find the Google application highlight it and MENU KEY -PERMISSIONS - make sure all permissions are set to allow, not custom.

Please write back and let me know if this works.

Thanks!

 

Message Edited by Bifocals on 08-29-2008 04:17 PM
Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎08-29-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Google Calendar Sync to Blackberry Problems

do your thing. Thanks for your hep
Guru I
Posts: 16,194
Registered: ‎07-23-2008
My Device: Torch 9850/ Playbook
My Carrier: VerizonWireless

Re: Google Calendar Sync to Blackberry Problems

Look at the post above yours!
Click Accept as Solution for posts that have solved your issue(s)!
Be sure to click Like! for those who have helped you.

Install BlackBerry Protect it's a free application designed to help find your lost BlackBerry smartphone, and keep the information on it secure.

Follow Bifocals on Twitter

Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎08-29-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Google Calendar Sync to Blackberry Problems

Thanks for that suggestion. Two of them were set to 'custom'. I switched them.

 

Still no arrows in the top right corner of my window. I'm not sure that I'm signed in, but I do have the option to 'Sync Now'.

 

It seems to hagn there.  Do I need to reset it or anything?

 

I never would have found the options you steered me to. Maybe we're getting close?