Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Having issues using the internet on my 8310

I recently unlocked a 8310 and I'm now using it with Tmobile instead of ATT.  I've got a full data package and everything but I can't get anywhere using either the BB browser or the Opera Browser.  Any Suggestions?
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 168
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Blackberry Bold

Re: Having issues using the internet on my 8310

Do you have the Blackberry Data plan?
CEO/Editor In Cheif
www.SmartphoneNation.com

New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Having issues using the internet on my 8310

I've got a data plan, idk if its bb specific, does it have to be?
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Having issues using the internet on my 8310

Yes I have a BB data plan, called and made sure.  What next?
Contributor
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎04-03-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Having issues using the internet on my 8310

There's a possibility that you will not be able to view the browser on the device. I've used unlocked devices before & the carrier had "locked" out certain devices from other carriers. The problem is that the service book you need for your browser will not be pushed to your 8310.
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Having issues using the internet on my 8310

I'm using the BBBrowser and I have opera mini installed, its timing out for some reason.  My cell comp says "it could take up to 24hrs for it to work".  I hate it when they say that.
New Member
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-04-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Having issues using the internet on my 8310

Now it works but only goes to certain pages......GRRrrrrrr.
Highlighted
Regular Contributor
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎05-18-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: Having issues using the internet on my 8310

Check wit tmobile that u have internet service on ur phne if in ur package.