Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
My Device: Curve 3G 9300 (OS V6.0.0.380)
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: How To Reload Your Operating System

[ Edited ]

i followed the exact procedure, deleted vendor.xml (inside application loader folder) before i open loader.exe file under same folder.

Mine is not a carrier specific phone/OS.

 

ps: i tried the same procedure while upgrading my old 8520 from v4. to v5 which was successfully completed

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 59,062
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: How To Reload Your Operating System

Hello,

 

Somewhere on these forums (oh how I wish I had saved a link!!!), there was a post from someone who was installing OS 6 via this procedure. As I recall, there were two places from which to delete VENDOR.XML. In all prior versions, there was just the one place to do that deletion.

 

That said, that information is just my recollection from that post (again, oh how I wish I had saved a link!!). I think that perhaps the poster who discovered this received corroborating responses, but I'm much less certain of that information.

 

Perhaps you can search carefully for other locations of VENDOR.XML? If you find them and that works, posting that in this thread would be helpful to others.

 

Thanks!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Elite I
Posts: 6,657
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Telus

Re: How To Reload Your Operating System

Give me a bit and I'll post an alternate method for you. I'm just away from my computer right now, but will post the method once I'm back in front of it.

If you want to thank someone for their comment, do so by clicking the Thumbs Up icon.

If your issue is resolved, don't forget to click the Solution button on the resolution!

Elite I
Posts: 6,657
Registered: ‎01-14-2009
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Telus

Re: How To Reload Your Operating System

Ok, I'm back.  The catch is that you likely originally tried to upgrade the device using the BlackBerry Desktop Software so there are extra copies of the Vendor.xml lying around (but they've been named differently using temporary file names).

 

One of the easiest ways to manage the upgrade is to download a program to your computer called BBSAK (can be downloaded from http://bbsak.org).  Once you have installed that to your computer, run it and plug your BlackBerry in.  When prompted enter your password if you have one, otherwise leave that section blank and press OK.  Once you're in the program, you can simply click on the "Load OS" which will delete all existing copies of the Vendor.xml and it will automatically open the Loader.exe file for you.  You should now be able to upgrade your device with no problems.

 

If that still doesn't work, then there is one additional option you can try, but make sure your data has been backed up first.  Open BBSAK, and then press the Wipe Device button.  This will delete everything off your device, including the OS.  Then press the Load OS button.  This will now work (it's actually the method I personally now use every time I load the OS because I have yet to have a problem with it (and that's after many many OS upgrades using this method)).

 

I hope that helps!


If you want to thank someone for their comment, do so by clicking the Thumbs Up icon.

If your issue is resolved, don't forget to click the Solution button on the resolution!

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
My Device: Curve 3G 9300 (OS V6.0.0.380)
My Carrier: Airtel

Re: How To Reload Your Operating System

[ Edited ]

I tried again this afternoon, this time using BBSAK as suggested by Krypto . 

In the middle i got stuck with an error, but followed exactly as mentioned in the popup (see twitpic) and retried. The entire process took ~ 25mins and here is the result.  http://twitpic.com/3rpnzm/full

i just followed load OS option but not wipe device. Is that fine or will actually reduce the available device memory?. Mine is a brand new  device and i had nothing to backup.

 

Many thanks to Krypto for all his guidance.

 

 

Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-27-2011
My Device: BlackBerry Curve 8520
My Carrier: Telkomsel.com

Re: How To Reload Your Operating System

 
BlackBerry Curve
Visitor
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-03-2011
My Device: Bold 9650
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: How To Reload Your Operating System

this is great, but... how do I do this on a mac?? Smiley Indifferent

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 59,062
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: How To Reload Your Operating System

 


gcenower wrote:

this is great, but... how do I do this on a mac?? Smiley Indifferent


 

Hi and Welcome to the Forums!

 

The short answer is...you don't.

 

If you are on MAC, you are limited to only your carriers sanctioned OS packages...but can still use any levels that they currently sanction. See this procedure:

 


  • KB19915How to perform a clean reload of BlackBerry smartphone application software using BlackBerry Desktop Software

 

Good luck and let us know!

 


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎02-03-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How To Reload Your Operating System

Krypto! You're the best! You saved my Bold 9650 from the evils of OS6 battery drainage!

 

Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!

Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-07-2011
My Device: 8350i
My Carrier: Nextel/Sprint

Re: How To Reload Your Operating System

Hey!  I have an 8350i through Nextel/Sprint. I've tried several times to upgrade the OS to the 5.0 (website says my phone is supported), to no avail.  EVERY time I try to upgrade, I wind up with the 507 error code.  I then have to uninstall BB desktop manager, and the OS from my computer, reinstall the manager and the 4.6.1 OS and load that to my phone.  Can anyone advise if there is some trick to this? I have read every post in this thread, tried ALL suggestions, and nothing has worked to do the upgrade correctly. 

 

I called Sprint this morning, and the girl I spoke to knew less about my phone than I did. She advised me that 5.0 isn't supported on my phone. However, since Nextel/Sprint is the only carrier with the 8350i, and BB says it is supported, I don't think that is the problem.

 

Help please Smiley Sad