Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-14-2010
My Device: 8900
My Carrier: ATT
Accepted Solution

How can I get my 8900 to upgrade to os5

When I tell it to update from the website  it downloads the BB desktop application and then tells me that my os is to date at version 4.6. Does anyone know how to ACTUALLY get it to update? Any help would be greatly appriciated.

Posts: 94,494
Likes: 24,392
Solutions: 6,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: How can I get my 8900 to upgrade to os5

See the link below, for the download and simple installation instructions.

First locate your carrier and the OS file you wish to use.
http://na.blackberry.com/eng/support/downloads/download_sites.jsp

Do a backup of your device first, using Desktop Manager > Backup. Close Desktop Manager upon completion.

1. Download the OS file to the PC then install it to the PC by running (double clicking) the file you downloaded.
2. Go to c:\program files\common files\research in motion\apploader and delete the file named "vendor.xml."
3. Plug in BB and double click on "Loader.exe." It's located in the same place as the above vendor.xml file.

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-14-2010
My Device: 8900
My Carrier: ATT

Re: How can I get my 8900 to upgrade to os5

Well I think that explains it. While RIM has officially released the 5 series it seems that my particular carrier has not. Thank you so much though.

Posts: 94,494
Likes: 24,392
Solutions: 6,349
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: How can I get my 8900 to upgrade to os5

[ Edited ]

 


athomsen wrote:

Well I think that explains it. While RIM has officially released the 5 series it seems that my particular carrier has not. Thank you so much though.


Exactly.

 

Device operating system releases are "released" by specific carriers once they have certified and trained their support techs, but still, you are able to load to any carrier's same model by following the instructions above.

 

Some users might worry they will void their device warranty by loading an OS from another carrier. There is really nothing to worry about.
Please read more information on that here:
http://www.port3101.org/power-users/296-blackberry-os-upgrade-including-betas-myths-dispelled.html

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎08-25-2009
My Device: 8900
My Carrier: T-Mobile

Re: How can I get my 8900 to upgrade to os5

This is for PC.  How about MAC, I can find nothing on that

Doug


www.facebook.com/dwjantz
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,550
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: How can I get my 8900 to upgrade to os5

 


dwjantz wrote:

This is for PC.  How about MAC, I can find nothing on that


 

Hello,

 

To my understanding, the MAC DTM can't be "forced" to use other device OS packages. Rather, you must select from what if offers as per this KB.

 

Good luck!



Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Contributor
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎05-16-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How can I get my 8900 to upgrade to os5

Why can't we d/l direct to the phone?

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,550
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: How can I get my 8900 to upgrade to os5

 


Susanology wrote:

Why can't we d/l direct to the phone?


 

Hello,

 

Typically, you can only do an OTA update for an OS package that your carrier has officially released. If you want to use another carriers more up-to-date OS, it will not be offered to you OTA (since your carrier controls your OTA updates, the limit you to what they sanction and support).

 

But, in any event, I never never never advise anyone to do an OTA update. Did I say never yet? Never. There simply are too many possible things that can go wrong, resulting in the complete loss of your data. It's not worth that, I think.

 

Cheers!



Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-07-2010
My Device: 8900
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: How can I get my 8900 to upgrade to os5

try getting an update done from the service centre....

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-07-2010
My Device: curve 8520
My Carrier: vodacom

Re: How can I get my 8900 to upgrade to os5

If I could I would like to pay homage to YOU for giving me true happiness....FINALLY!!!

I cannot believe it has taken me this long to find an answer, I am now an avid member and supporter of all support forums.....