Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

New Contributor
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

How can I separate phone and email messages?

I am new to the blackberry and do not see a way to separate my phone messages from email messages.  There is an icon for my email inbox (labeled my email address) but these messages also show up under the "messages" icon mixed in between my phone activity.  What I desire is to have only phone messages/activity (missed calls, etc) under one icon, and my email under another icon. 

Is there a way to stop email from showing under the "messages" icon?  Can anyone explain how to do this please?

Regards,  Tim

Solutions: 6,349
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: How can I separate phone and email messages?

Tim, Greetings, and welcome to the BlackBerry.com Support Forums.

Your messages folder will get ALL messages. It is intended for email specifically.

To remove you phone call log messages from your main messages folder, press the green dial key > Menu > Options > Call Logging and set to none.

Then, hide your email-specific icon. Scoll over it (and do not open it) > Menu > Hide.

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV

1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor

Thanks a bunch for the info -