Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

New Contributor
My Device: 9800
My Carrier: Virgin Mobile

How do I TRANSFER / BACKUP text messages from my 9800 to my PC?

I'm new to BLACKBERY, and I have a 9800 TORCH on which I have several TEXT message conversations that I want to transfer / backup to my PC. I've got he BLACKBERRY Desktop sw installed, but I cannot locate the text messages. Please advise. Jon
Elite I
My Device: BlackBerry Z10
My Carrier: Telus

Re: How do I TRANSFER / BACKUP text messages from my 9800 to my PC?

Hi there,

Your text messages will be backed up as a part of the .bbb backup file, however they are not easily viewable on your computer like this. To pull copies of your text messages from your phone so that you can read them on your computer, you will need to get a separate program to read them. One that has worked for people in the past is called ABC Amber BlackBerry Converter.

I hope this information will help out!

If you want to thank someone for their comment, do so by clicking the Thumbs Up icon.

If your issue is resolved, don't forget to click the Solution button on the resolution!

New Contributor

Krypto;

Thanks for the quick reply. 

I've installed the "ABC Amber BlackBerry Converter" but - for the life of me - I can't find my text messages within ANY of the folders on my 9800!  I've ended up with some software called FLV Player. 

Is this the right one? 

I'm not too bright where phones and tech are concerned; I just use it as a phone and a camera.

I've created a BACKUP file from my phone to the PC (.bbb file) but The Converter / FLV Player is looking for a file in a directory, but I can't located it!

Any instructions you can provide would be gratefully accepted.  Jon

New Contributor