Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-27-2011
My Device: Not Specified

Re: How to Restart Blackberry Programatically.

i have an issue with my blackberry 8330 and i cant do anything on it and i was wondering how to do a system reset when cant make anything work on my phone

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,554
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: How to Restart Blackberry Programatically.

 


mitch1187 wrote:

i have an issue with my blackberry 8330 and i cant do anything on it and i was wondering how to do a system reset when cant make anything work on my phone


 

Hi and Welcome to the Forums!

 

Well, there are few different things that you could mean by "system reset"...here are a few choices:



Anytime random strange behavior or sluggishness creeps in, the first thing to do is a battery pop reboot. With power ON, remove the back cover and pull out the battery. Wait about a minute then replace the battery and cover. Power up and wait patiently through the long reboot -- ~5 minutes. See if things have returned to good operation. Like all computing devices, BB's suffer from memory leaks and such...with a hard reboot being the best cure.


 

From a PC, you can install any OS package to a BB via this procedure:

 

  • http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/BlackBerry-Device-Software/How-To-Reload-Your-Operating-Syste...

  • Note that while written for "reload", it can be used to upgrade, downgrade, or reload -- it all depends on the OS package you download and install to your PC. You can even use a different carriers OS package by simply inserting, between steps 1 and 2, the deletion, on your PC, of a file named VENDOR.XML. Be sure that you remove, from your PC, any other BB device OS packages as having more than one installed to the PC can cause conflicts with this procedure.

     

    If you are on MAC, you are limited to only your carriers sanctioned OS packages...but can still use any levels that they currently sanction. See this procedure:

     

  • KB19915How to perform a clean reload of BlackBerry smartphone application software using BlackBerry Desktop Software



  • Good luck and let us know!


    Best!

     



    Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

    New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

    ...................................................... ......................................................
    New Member
    Posts: 1
    Registered: ‎07-08-2011
    My Device: Curve 9300
    My Carrier: RIM

    Re: How to Restart Blackberry Programatically.

    On the Blackberry App store click on the menu buton and click reboot Smiley Happy

    New Member
    Posts: 1
    Registered: ‎08-07-2011
    My Device: Torch
    My Carrier: Vodafone

    Re: How to Restart Blackberry Programatically.

    quickpull works perfectly, but i still dont get why isnt it a standard function on the phone, why do you need to install an app to do such a basic operations?
    Guru I
    Posts: 19,020
    Registered: ‎07-29-2008
    My Device: Passport, Playbook, 9320BES
    My Carrier: Bouygues _ SFR

    Re: How to Restart Blackberry Programatically.

    @samer_57 the soft reboot can be achieved on all BlackBerry QWERTY devices without any third party applications.

    Exceptions are Pearl & Storm series.



    The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
    Contributor
    Posts: 10
    Registered: ‎11-30-2011
    My Device: Pearl Flip 8220
    My Carrier: ZAIN Kuwait

    Re: How to Restart Blackberry Programatically.

    you can download RestartMe a free app to simulate the battery pull,

     

    http://go.mobihand.com?op=dlmh&pd=37243&l=&ps=150

    Highlighted
    kpj
    New Contributor
    Posts: 3
    Registered: ‎11-21-2012
    My Device: BB Curve 9300
    My Carrier: Airtel

    Re: How to Restart Blackberry Programatically.

    Pulling the battery to restart ur device seems such a pain. Easier way to restart ur BB is to press ALT key and right SHIFT key and DEL/Backspace key at the same time. Keep pressing all the three keys till screen goes off.