Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-22-2010
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: How to use Blackberry as Wireless Router?

I hear you. If Android came out with a nice slide out keyboard, I would love to chuck my Fred Flinstone Blackberry into the river. Kind of sickening that the management of RIM could be so obtuse. 

 

They don't read blogs, they don't visit technology forums, they don't try the competitors products. No wonder why Laurel and Hardy have personally lost billions in wealth while their company goes down in flames.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-17-2011
My Device: BB8520
My Carrier: BASE Belgium

Re: How to use Blackberry as Wireless Router?

I have thether app on BB and on laptop , with cable but it does not work. Because BASE here ask me for a special data abonnement  ( i already have one with 500 mb but cannot use that for thethering  Base told me ....)

New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-04-2011
My Device: 9330 curve
My Carrier: sprint

Re: How to use Blackberry as Wireless Router?

if you have password protected your 9330 curve, disable this option in Security Options and then your phone should enter into Modem Mode and then provide Wifi via the PHS300 cradlepoint router.  I have successfully done this as of today.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-17-2011
My Device: BB8520
My Carrier: BASE Belgium

Re: How to use Blackberry as Wireless Router?

does this work on 8520 as well? 

Elite II
Posts: 8,981
Registered: ‎01-05-2009
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: How to use Blackberry as Wireless Router?


patjqm99 wrote:

does this work on 8520 as well? 


The 8520 doesn't have Wi-Fi, so no.  Smiley Sad


- If my response has helped you, please click "Options" beside my post and mark it as solved. Clicking the "thumbs up" icon near the bottom of my response would also be appreciated.



New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-04-2011
My Device: 9330 curve
My Carrier: sprint

Re: How to use Blackberry as Wireless Router?

[ Edited ]
This model isn't on the list of supported phones, but there's a decent chance it will as neither is the 9330, but as my previous post stated it works when used in conjunction with PHS300.
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-25-2011
My Device: Bold
My Carrier: o2

Re: How to use Blackberry as Wireless Router?

Motorola Milestone has slide out QWERTY, but to be honest, with Swype or Shapewriter on, it's quicker and easier just to use the touch screen.

New Contributor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-04-2011
My Device: 9330 curve
My Carrier: sprint

Re: How to use Blackberry as Wireless Router?

Not sure what your post has to do with this topic.
Elite II
Posts: 8,981
Registered: ‎01-05-2009
My Device: BlackBerry PRIV
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: How to use Blackberry as Wireless Router?

Using your BlackBerry as a Wi-Fi Hotspot is coming very soon (and I mean VERY soon).  Just hang in there!  Smiley Happy


- If my response has helped you, please click "Options" beside my post and mark it as solved. Clicking the "thumbs up" icon near the bottom of my response would also be appreciated.



New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎06-22-2010
My Device: Torch 9800
My Carrier: Rogers

Re: How to use Blackberry as Wireless Router?

[ Edited ]

@Scatman72 wrote:

 

if you have password protected your 9330 curve, disable this option in Security Options and then your phone should enter into Modem Mode and then provide Wifi via the PHS300 cradlepoint router.  I have successfully done this as of today. 

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

We are talking about wireless modem funtionality, not tethering by a cable.