Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-02-2014
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone
Accepted Solution

I cannot seem to get my Pearl to Factory Reset

Hello,

 

Despite doing a handheld reset, and the commandprompt one too, It is still saying invalid SIM.

 

On startup there is a warning saying SIMLock wants my details - i said no.

 

I have a brand new SIM, and I can't get mobile. What next?

Live life so that the priest doesn't have to lie at your funeral...!
Posts: 94,168
Likes: 24,317
Solutions: 6,329
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: I cannot seem to get my Pearl to Factory Reset


VW_Nut wrote:

 

On startup there is a warning saying SIMLock wants my details - i said no.

 


Powered on, remove the battery and reinsert to reboot... now, what details does it ask for?

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-02-2014
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: I cannot seem to get my Pearl to Factory Reset

Now it says "Invalid SIM card"

Live life so that the priest doesn't have to lie at your funeral...!
Posts: 94,168
Likes: 24,317
Solutions: 6,329
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: I cannot seem to get my Pearl to Factory Reset

Check if the Handset is network locked to the original carrier network:

 

Options - Advanced Options - SIM Card

Press the keys: mepd

 

All the additional fields should say Disbaled. Anything else means it is network locked!

 

You can read more in my link below: Guide to Unlocking

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-02-2014
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: I cannot seem to get my Pearl to Factory Reset

[ Edited ]

No, all say disabled. Personalization: is blank

 

I cannot type MEP2 or MEP4 to bring up an unlock menu, either.

 

The phone was on Vodafone, now it won't swap to 2 degrees. If I buy a vodafone SIM, and it still won't work, I've wasted my money!

Live life so that the priest doesn't have to lie at your funeral...!
Posts: 94,168
Likes: 24,317
Solutions: 6,329
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: I cannot seem to get my Pearl to Factory Reset

Read my link as suggested... your Pearl is Suretype.

 

For a SureType keyboard (71xx, 81xx, 91xx devices) you will need to double-tap the P, so the actual keys entered become M E P P D

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-02-2014
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: I cannot seem to get my Pearl to Factory Reset

So, M E P P D is entererd as 6,33,7,7,3  or just 63773? (it isn't responding)

Live life so that the priest doesn't have to lie at your funeral...!
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-02-2014
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: I cannot seem to get my Pearl to Factory Reset

[ Edited ]

Hello J Sanders,

 

So far, I've got everything from your link except the mep2 or mep4 bit.

 

When I go to Sim Card, it says 

 

Personalization:

SIMDisabled

NetworkDisabled

Network SubsetDisabled

Service ProviderDisabled

CorporateDisabled

 

OK. So now I can't seem to get any further. It says "insert SIM card" on the home screen (but there is a SIM in it).

 

Do you have any suggestions what to do next?

 

***EDIT***

I have found in "Mobile Network Settings" that it says Vodafone (even though the MEPD says disabled.)

 

So, do I have to use Vodafone only? I don't want to.

Live life so that the priest doesn't have to lie at your funeral...!
Posts: 94,168
Likes: 24,317
Solutions: 6,329
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: I cannot seem to get my Pearl to Factory Reset


VW_Nut wrote:

When I go to Sim Card, it says 

 

Personalization:

SIMDisabled

NetworkDisabled

Network SubsetDisabled

Service ProviderDisabled

CorporateDisabled

 


Your device is unlocked, according to those settings. This is why I asked you to read the link earlier.

You don't need to unlock.

 

I don't know why your SIM card is invalid. Perhaps your SIM card does not have the required BIS data plan on the card.

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎05-02-2014
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: I cannot seem to get my Pearl to Factory Reset

OK, so I went and bought a Vodafone SIM and it works - except the email function because I bought a cheap sim. So it was actually locked to vodafone even tho it says disabled. 

 

ah well,....

Live life so that the priest doesn't have to lie at your funeral...!