Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-29-2009
My Device: Not Specified

I tried to upgrade an application through App World. It...

[ Edited ]
I tried to upgrade an application through App World. It failed and I had to reinstall the program. Now it is asking me for the activation code which no longer shows up in My Apps. The application was Geocache Navigator. (removed personal information)
Message Edited by thundergeek on 07-30-2009 12:25 PM
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,618
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: I tried to upgrade an application through App World. It...

Hi there!

To re-install your apps, please follow this section of the AppWorld user guide:

http://na.blackberry.com/eng/deliverables/7268/Re-install_an_item_on_a_different_device_643962_11.js...

For more registration key information, see this KB:

http://www.blackberry.com/btsc/KB18646

If that does not work, then please return to these forums (http://supportforums.blackberry.com/rim/) and register an account so that we can provide you with direct assistance.

Cheers!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Member
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-14-2009
My Device: Not Specified

Re: I tried to upgrade an application through App World. It...

I have this same issue Please contact me to correct.
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,618
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAG111), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: I tried to upgrade an application through App World. It...

Recently, another user has reported (for a different app) that completely removing all traces of the app from their BB allowed the normal re-install to work. They did more than just deleting the app...the did some file/folder deletions as well that were tied to the app. I haven't yet seen their detailed response (I've asked them for details of exactly what they did), but if you can figure out how to remove all traces of the app, then the re-install steps (from above) may then work for you.

 

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................