Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-16-2012
My Device: Blackberry 8520
My Carrier: Globe

IM HAVING PROBLEMS WITH MY BLACKBERRY 8520

I just got my BB8520 last friday. I cant recieve and send text message. nor make and receive calls too. I have enough buffer on my account but still cant get through  it. I have tried powercycling my phone but its no help. I tried to insert my simcard to other phones such as Nokia 5800 and Samsung Corby II, it came to my surprise coz IT'S WORKING ! My BB8520 is already unlocked. It has full signal bars but  cant make and recieve calls and text. I dont know what to do .. please give me some help. Anyway my BB8520 has v5.0.0.1036 (Bundle 1682,Platform 5.2.0.104).

Posts: 96,070
Likes: 24,627
Solutions: 6,422
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: IM HAVING PROBLEMS WITH MY BLACKBERRY 8520

On the homesceen, with the SIM cad in, what is the signal indicator you see at the top right?

On your Manage Connections screen, click on the Mobile Network, does it show Globe as the provider?



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-16-2012
My Device: Blackberry 8520
My Carrier: Globe

Re: IM HAVING PROBLEMS WITH MY BLACKBERRY 8520

Hmm On the signal indicator , I see edge , sometimes it's gprs .. And on the Manage Connections , yes it is showing Globe as the provider..

Posts: 96,070
Likes: 24,627
Solutions: 6,422
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: IM HAVING PROBLEMS WITH MY BLACKBERRY 8520


babyzy16 wrote:

Hmm On the signal indicator , I see edge , sometimes it's gprs .. And on the Manage Connections , yes it is showing Globe as the provider..


"edge" and "gprs" in lower case indicate you are not connected to the BIS BlackBerry Data Network.

 

Upper case all caps EDGE and GRPS indicate you are connected.

 

DO NOT "powercycle" your BlackBerry, Do a simple reboot on the BlackBerry in this manner: With the BlackBerry device POWERED ON, remove the battery for a minute, and then reinsert the battery to reboot. A reboot in this manner is prescribed for most glitches and operating system errors, and you will lose no data on the device doing this.



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-16-2012
My Device: Blackberry 8520
My Carrier: Globe

Re: IM HAVING PROBLEMS WITH MY BLACKBERRY 8520

I've done the "rebooting process".. still no help .. Smiley Sad

Posts: 96,070
Likes: 24,627
Solutions: 6,422
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: IM HAVING PROBLEMS WITH MY BLACKBERRY 8520

Do you have a BlackBerry Data Plan enabled on your account with your carrier or mobile provider?

You must, in order to get the RIM push email functions you are looking for, as well as additional BlackBerry data services such as the internet browser, Facebook for BlackBerry, BlackBerry Messenger, and much more.

So, call your carrier and inquire about having the BlackBerry Data Plan added to your account.

Good luck.



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code