Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-03-2013
My Device: Blackberry Bold 9900
My Carrier: +

Importing settings from Q10 to Bold

After working with my free upgrade Q10 from O2 for the last couple of weeks (I upgraded from and aged Curve), I have decided to get a Bold 9900 instead as I find the Q10 a bit large and combersome and overly complicated for my needs. How do I import my settings, or at the very least my contacts, from the Q10 to my second hand ebay-purchased 9900 which arrived this morning? I will be selling the Q10 asap so I don't really want to fiddle around for days trying to figure it out!

Posts: 96,075
Likes: 24,627
Solutions: 6,422
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Importing settings from Q10 to Bold

1. Your settings on the Q10 are useless on the 9900.

 

2. Your contacts on the Q10, are the set as local contacts are syncinged with an email account? Open your Q10 Address Book... under which tab are the contacts located?

 

3. You have your mobile phone number listed as your "My Mobile Provider" or carrier. Putting your phone number out on the internet on these public forums for the world to see, is not wise. To change that, at the top of this page click on My Settings > Personal Profile > Personal Information, and in the entry block for "Carrier" type the name of your mobile provider.



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-03-2013
My Device: Blackberry Bold 9900
My Carrier: +

Re: Importing settings from Q10 to Bold

Thanks for your reply. Regarding the contacts, I think these are synced with my gmail account - will all the information be available within gmail for importing into the Bold? I'm not sure how to open my Q10 address book as you say to see which tab they are under... can you give me a little more guidance?I tried copying my contacts to the sim but it only copied a few. Thanks again.

Posts: 96,075
Likes: 24,627
Solutions: 6,422
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Importing settings from Q10 to Bold

Forget about coying to SIM, that's not a good way to do it, you will only get one number per name, no addresses, etc.

 

  • Open your Q10 Contacts icon.
  • At the bottom left, you will see the ALL icon.
  • Touch that, and then you will see the different Address Book sources, and Gmail should be one of them.
  • Is it?


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-03-2013
My Device: Blackberry Bold 9900
My Carrier: +

Re: Importing settings from Q10 to Bold

Yes, all my contacts are listed under my gmail address.

Posts: 96,075
Likes: 24,627
Solutions: 6,422
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Importing settings from Q10 to Bold

Good, then your contacts are all syncing from your GMail account, and when you login to your email on your Bold device, you will have them there.



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-03-2013
My Device: Blackberry Bold 9900
My Carrier: +

Re: Importing settings from Q10 to Bold

Great. A very simpe solution! Thank you for your quick response to this dilemma.

Highlighted
Posts: 96,075
Likes: 24,627
Solutions: 6,422
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Importing settings from Q10 to Bold

Good luck.



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code