Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-14-2011
My Device: Curve 8520
Accepted Solution

Is there Broswer App?

Most websites are blocked with my company phone.

 

Is there an app thats a broswer?

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 59,104
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Is there Broswer App?

Hello,

 

Perhaps I misunderstand your query...the app that is a browser is called "Browser"...

 

If sites are blocked by your corporate IT Policy, there's nothing that can (or should) break past that.

 

Good luck!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-01-2011
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: none

Re: Is there Broswer App?

[ Edited ]

I think the enquirer meant an app like Bolt Browser?

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 59,104
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Is there Broswer App?

Possible, but I think I'll wait for the OP to provide clarification.


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-14-2011
My Device: Curve 8520

Re: Is there Broswer App?

Yes,  Bolt broswer is exactly what I'm looking for.

The main "Browser" app doesn't get all websites because they are filtered out by my company.  Since Bolt looks like it acts as an app the filter doesn't work on it.

Any other apps like Bolt?

New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-01-2011
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: none

Re: Is there Broswer App?

O, another one would be Opera Mini?  But, users find that Bolt Browser is faster than Opera...

Guru I
Posts: 19,020
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Passport, Playbook, 9320BES
My Carrier: Bouygues _ SFR

Re: Is there Broswer App?

 


ro44 wrote:

Most websites are blocked with my company phone.

 

Is there an app thats a broswer?


 

hello,

 

when you launch the Browser application, it is defined to use your company browser. It is called "BlackBerry browser", and goes through all the proxy settings of your company.

 

You can set the Browser application to use another browser than the "BlackBerry browser". For example the one named "Internet Browser", that will go through directly your carrier's proxy (that is not touched by your company restrictions).

 

To set your device to another browser :

  1. Home screen >> browser application >> menu >> options >> Browser configuration >> Browser
  2. and set it to a value different from "BlackBerry Browser"

*****

 

if you do not like that browser, you can indeed use BOLT browser and Opera Mini, both having tabs which is very practical.




The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎01-14-2011
My Device: Curve 8520

Re: Is there Broswer App?

Thank you, exactly what I'm looking for.

Guru I
Posts: 19,020
Registered: ‎07-29-2008
My Device: Passport, Playbook, 9320BES
My Carrier: Bouygues _ SFR

Re: Is there Broswer App?

 


ro44 wrote:

Thank you, exactly what I'm looking for.


I know I know, sometimes I'm in a state of grace and can read minds through this forum. Have a nice browsing.

 




The search box on top-right of this page is your true friend, and the public Knowledge Base too:
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-01-2011
My Device: Curve 8520
My Carrier: none

Re: Is there Broswer App?

funny.. mine doesn't work that way..

 

under >Browser, I've 3 choices: 1. Hotspot, 2. Internet Explorer 3. Firefox

 

I changed it to Internet Explorer.. but, when I try opening the browser application again, I can't. It says no wifi connection is available. Din't you say "For example the one named "Internet Browser", that will go through directly your carrier's proxy (that is not touched by your company restrictions"... I do have correct TCP settings. Opera Mini works just fine. If Internet Browser does work in the end, does that mean, I can download themes OTA? Or is the Hotspot Browser a must for that?