Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

New Contributor
My Device: Not Specified

Kind Request to RIM for Two-Way IM Synchronization/Reconciliation

I know I am not alone here: I am a university student (New Haven, CT) at a university that provides Exchange and BlackBerry functionality for everyone with an ID except undergrads.  I have asked to pay for Exchange, but they will not allow it.

So I am left with IMAP, which works fine with BIS: e-mails are pushed properly and sent messages are stored properly.  HOWEVER, when I read an e-mail in Thunderbird, it is NOT marked as read on my BlackBerry.  This is a known issue, is adressed in a KB article and referred to as "one-way sync."  This is immensely frustrating.

RIM, please resolve this ASAP!

1) I understand there may be technical limitations that present a bit of a roadblock: IMAP is not set up to ping the BlackBerry every time something is changed.  Thus, BIS could scan the server to see if read status had been changed.  There must be a way to do this.

2) RIM may not want to do this because it detracts from the added value of an Exchange or BES setup.

Background:

Exchange now seems to be the only way to do true "push" e-mail and still have my e-mails appear as though they have been sent from my e-mail address.  MobileMe and Yahoo do push services, but then I have to either buy an iPhone or forward all my e-mail to a Yahoo account.

Since I'm actually running BlackBerry Connect on a Windows Mobile device, (AT&T Fuze/HTC Touch Pro) I could switch to use the default Windows Mobile e-Mail Client that supports IMAP, but then it's not push-capable.

I have yet to try Emansio or GoodLink.  I think the former uses the IMAP-IDLE command.  I will see how they work.  It would be nice to get rid of my monthly BlackBerry fee.

Super Contributor