Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

New Contributor
My Device: 9320 curve
My Carrier: tesco

Lost all contacs and text messages following an OS update, please help

Hi All,

I have just updated my sons 9230 Curve operating system to 7.1.0 (OS 7) and all his contacts and Text messages have disappeared.

All his music is still there and it has said that his sim contains contacts, but when you accept to transfer them to phone contacts nothing happens.

I am not a techno phobe but i am a mechanical engineer...............please can somebody help as i have just spent 4 hours with this bloody phone and am about to see if it will float in the sea!!!!

Pony

Hall of Famer III
My Device: DTEK50 (AAI82), PRIV (AAI795), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Lost all contacs and text messages following an OS update, please help

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

Depending on a lot of factors, there may or may not be a source of restore for this situation...restore, of course, requires having taken a backup prior to the removal of this data.

If you took a manual backup to a PC, then you can restore from that...refer to the Backup link in my auto-sig on this post for information about that type of backup/restore.

If you used BB Protect, then that would be a source of restore.

If you did an OTA update, then the backup taken as part of that process is solely on the device...and once the process completes, that backup is lost forever, so it cannot be a source of restore.