Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-05-2013
My Device: Style 9670
My Carrier: Bell

MEMO PAD

For some reason whenever I type to dial a number on my phone the memo pad comes up.. Does anyone know how to make this stop.

 

Thanks,

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,176
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAH108), PRIV (AAH995), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: MEMO PAD

Hi and Welcome to the Community!

Anytime random strange behavior or sluggishness creeps in, the first thing to do is a battery pop reboot. With power ON, remove the back cover and pull out the battery. Wait about a minute then replace the battery and cover. Power up and wait patiently through the long reboot -- ~5 minutes. See if things have returned to good operation. Like all computing devices, BB's suffer from memory leaks and such...with a hard reboot being the best cure.

Best!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-05-2013
My Device: Style 9670
My Carrier: Bell

Re: MEMO PAD

I tried the hard reboot and waited and it still comes up with the memo pad...  for whatever reason its like its the default and i can't seem to remove it..

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,176
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAH108), PRIV (AAH995), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: MEMO PAD

OK, so please clarify some things...

Is this new behavior? Or has it always been this way?

What are the exact steps you are taking? Are you on the homescreen and just start typing? Or are you in the Phone app and then start typing?

Thanks!

Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-05-2013
My Device: Style 9670
My Carrier: Bell

Re: MEMO PAD

Its new, i have never used the memo pad before.  and before. as soon as i would start typing a number i could just press the dial button to complete the call.  Now i have to press the dial button before i even enter a number.  I am on the home screen and as soon as i type one letter the memo pad now comes up.  never ever done this before. 

Hall of Famer III
Posts: 58,176
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: DTEK50 (AAH108), PRIV (AAH995), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1917)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: MEMO PAD

[ Edited ]

OK, then I recommend that you attempt to boot into Safe Mode:

  • KB17877 How to start a BlackBerry smartphone in Safe Mode

It may take you multiple attempts to get the ESC key sequence (press/release/hold) correct, so be patient. When successfully into Safe Mode, see what happens.

 

If the behavior ceases, then think carefully...what happened just before this behavior started? A new app? An update? A Theme? Something else? Think carefully as the smallest change could be causal...and attempt to undo whatever that was.

 

If the behavior continues, then more drastic remedy attempts may be necessary. (Unless, of course, the "change" was an updated OS where this behavior was altered, and is now perhaps WAD -- Working As Designed).

 

Please also provide your exact OS level:

  • KB23393 How to check the model number and version of installed BlackBerry device software on a BlackBerry smartphone

Good luck and let us know!


Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................