Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-18-2012
My Device: Curve 9300
My Carrier: Vodacom SA

Mobile signal

Hi

 

I have a problem with my smart phone, it can't hold a network signal for long. It keeps having to search for a netwrok signal. I contacted my service provider and their solution was to register me on the network through settings, but this wasn't sufficient. The problem still persists and I can't enjoy the full functionality of the phone because I have to wait for it to catch a signal.

 

Please Help

Thato

Highlighted
Posts: 96,070
Likes: 24,621
Solutions: 6,421
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

woudRe: Mobile signal

I would next try using a new SIM card from Vodacom. You can get a SIM swap for free.



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-18-2012
My Device: Curve 9300
My Carrier: Vodacom SA

Re: woudRe: Mobile signal

Thank you so much. I will try it out tomorrow.
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-18-2012
My Device: Curve 9300
My Carrier: Vodacom SA

Re: woudRe: Mobile signal

Hi, I tried the sim swap and it didn't work, the phone still struggles to hold a signal. What else can you recommend?
Posts: 96,070
Likes: 24,621
Solutions: 6,421
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: woudRe: Mobile signal

What is your Operating System loaded to your device? Look at Options > About, third line down beginning with a "v.6.0.x.xxx", What is yours?



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-18-2012
My Device: Curve 9300
My Carrier: Vodacom SA

Re: woudRe: Mobile signal

v6.0.0.448, Platform 6.6.0.124
Posts: 96,070
Likes: 24,621
Solutions: 6,421
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: woudRe: Mobile signal

If I recall the correctly the latest OS release is .706 or such, you might try upgrading and see how that affects the signal. Each OS release can have differing radio signal files, and thus might improve your device connections.

 

http://www.blackberryos.com/9300-9330-3g-operating-software/26915-official-os-v6-0-0-706-blackberry-...



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code