Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-25-2010
My Device: bold 9000
My Carrier: att

Mute button/keyboard lock

Yesterday, my mute button decided to no longer work when trying to unlock my keypad ( I have os 5.0). I consequently have to take out my battery and restart the phone to get the keypad unlocked. Not sure if the actual button is faulty or not but is there any way to switch the unlocking feature to a different button?

Posts: 96,075
Likes: 24,627
Solutions: 6,422
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Mute button/keyboard lock

Try pressing the K key or the * and Green dial key.



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-25-2010
My Device: bold 9000
My Carrier: att

Re: Mute button/keyboard lock

Just tried both and unfortunately, neither worked Smiley Sad

Posts: 96,075
Likes: 24,627
Solutions: 6,422
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Mute button/keyboard lock

To allow this K shortcut to work, you must have "Dial from Home Screen" set to "No" (go to Phone dialer > Options > General Options.)



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-25-2010
My Device: bold 9000
My Carrier: att

Re: Mute button/keyboard lock

Just did that and unfortunately, still no luck. I did have "k" assigned as a speed dial key and removed the number associated with it to make sure that wasn't the problem but still nothing...

Posts: 96,075
Likes: 24,627
Solutions: 6,422
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Mute button/keyboard lock

This has nothing to do with speed dial, as speed dial will stil work with the Dial from Homescreen set to No.

 

So, let's get this info:

What is your Operating System loaded to your device?
Look at Options > About, third line down beginning with a "v.4.xxx"
What is yours?



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-25-2010
My Device: bold 9000
My Carrier: att

Re: Mute button/keyboard lock

I didn't think it would have to do with the speed dial either but just wanted to make sure that wasn't the reason... My os is v5.0.0.509 (Platform 5.2.0.50). Thanks for all your help so far! Smiley Happy

Posts: 96,075
Likes: 24,627
Solutions: 6,422
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Mute button/keyboard lock

I'd say upgrade to .681, and keep your fingers crossed that it fixes your issue.


Let me know and post back here and we'll follow up.

 

http://www.blackberryforums.com/general-9000-series-discussion-bold/227070-latest-os-9000-5-0-0-1137...



1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-25-2010
My Device: bold 9000
My Carrier: att

Re: Mute button/keyboard lock

Thanks! Will give it a shot when I get home and will let you know.

New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎05-25-2010
My Device: bold 9000
My Carrier: att

Re: Mute button/keyboard lock

[ Edited ]

Well, I upgraded to .681 and unfortunately, the mute button, * and green phone button, or the k button still do not unlock the keyboard Smiley Sad On a positive note, the new os seems to be working quite nicely!