Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones


Thank you for visiting the BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

BlackBerry will be closing the BlackBerry Support Community Forums Device Forums on April 1st (Developers, see below)

BlackBerry remains committed to providing excellent customer support to our customers. We are delighted to direct you to the CrackBerry Forums, a well-established and thorough support channel, for continued BlackBerry support. Please visit http://forums.crackberry.com or http://crackberry.com/ask. You can also continue to visit BlackBerry Support or the BlackBerry Knowledge Base for official support options available for your BlackBerry Smartphone.

"When we launched CrackBerry.com 10 years ago, we set out to make it a fun and useful destination where BlackBerry Smartphone owners could share their excitement and learn to unleash the full potential of their BlackBerry. A decade later, the CrackBerry community is as active and passionate as ever and I know our knowledgeable members and volunteers will be excited to welcome and assist more BlackBerry owners with their questions."

- Kevin Michaluk, Founder, CrackBerry.com

Developers, for more information about the BlackBerry Developer Community please review Join the Conversation on the BlackBerry Developer Community Forums found on Inside BlackBerry.


Reply
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-26-2011
My Device: Blackberry Bold 9900
My Carrier: MTN Nigeria

Network Mode Switch No Longer Possible After Upgrade

Hello. I can't switch from 3G/H+ to 2G any longer. I could do this when I still had the OS 7.0 running on my Torch 9810 (AT&T). This changed after I upgraded to the OS 7.1. Now, when I go to the "Networks and Connections" option, all I see is "Manual and "Automatic"...I don't see any options to switch between 2G or 3G/H+...Even when I try switching manually to 2G (selecting 2G from the list of available networks), it still stays on 3G/H+...I have just upgraded to the latest official release: OS 7.1 Bundle 1997 (7.1.0.694 , Platform 5.1.0.507) but still, there are no changes on that. I need to have this feature because staying put on 3G/H+ means faster battery consumption and I don't want that. Please, your assistance is needed. Thanks.
New Contributor
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-25-2012
My Device: bold 9900
My Carrier: TIM

Re: Network Mode Switch No Longer Possible After Upgrade

same problem Smiley Mad

Guru III
Posts: 32,249
Registered: ‎06-25-2008
My Device:

I'm rockin the BlackBerry DTEK60, Passport, Z30, Z10, Q10, BlackBerry Mini Stereo Speaker, 64 gig PlayBook,BT Headset HS-700

My Carrier: I am on AT&T. Please edit your Personal Profile with your DEVICE TYPE, DEVICE OS and Carrier

Re: Network Mode Switch No Longer Possible After Upgrade

1.On the home screen, click the connections area at the top of the screen, or click the Manage Connections icon.2.
Click Networks and Connections > Mobile Network.•
To connect to CDMA networks only, set the Network Technology field to 3G.•
To connect to either a GSM or CDMA network, set the Network Technology field to Global.•
To connect to GSM networks only, set the Network Technology field to GSM/UMTS. To optimize network coverage, set the Network Mode field to one of the following: 2G & 3G or 2G & 3G/4G or 2G & 3G/H+. The options that appear in the Network Mode field depend on your wireless service provider.

 




Click here to Backup the data on your BlackBerry Device! It's important, and FREE!


Click "Accept as Solution" if your problem is solved. To give thanks, click thumbs up
Click to search the Knowledge Base at BTSC and click to Read The Fabulous Manuals

BESAdmin's, please make a signature with your BES environment info.


SIM Free BlackBerry Unlocking FAQ
Follow me on Twitter @knottyrope


Want to thank me? Buy my KnottyRope App here


BES 12 and BES 5.0.4 with Exchange 2010 and SQL 2012 Hyper V


Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-26-2011
My Device: Blackberry Bold 9900
My Carrier: MTN Nigeria

Re: Network Mode Switch No Longer Possible After Upgrade

Mine doesn't have the Network Technology option. What do I do?