Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
My Device: Blackberry Bold 9930
My Carrier: Vodacom

Network - invalid on verizon bold 9930

Hi There

 

I need help urgently, as I am about to throw my phone through the wall. I recently updated my blackberry software. EVerything worked fine, I has no problem updating. When I put my new sim card in (brand new sim, never been used), my phone registerd me on the verizon wireless network, even though I am livning in south africa with a south african sim card. I can send sms and make phone calls, but that it is! Before I did my sim swop and system update, everythin worked fine on this phone. I cant bbm, use the internet etc etc.

 

I have tried everything. Tried to resend registerstation message, manually connected to 3G vodacom network  and resent registeration msg. I have called my service provider. I have rebooting. I even tryed restoring data from a recent backup i did when my phone worked, and that did nothing. EVERYTHING, and im on my final straw. I just want a working phone.

 

Please please help me.  Oh also, when I go to advanced options to try and see if my phone was locked - its not. Everything says "disabled" next to it, but next to network it says "invalid' or something.

 

Please help asap!

 

Thank you

Posts: 94,250
Likes: 24,335
Solutions: 6,331
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: Network - invalid on verizon bold 9930

Go to your Manage Connections screen > Mobile Network > Network Technology.

Make sure that is set to GSM/UMTS.

Now see if you can find your Vodacom mobile network.

>> NEW! 10% discount on BlackBerry devices from ShopBlackBerry.com, including PRIV


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
My Device: Bold 9930
My Carrier: Vodacom

Re: Network - invalid on verizon bold 9930

I desperately require your assistance. I have just brought back a unlocked 9930 from USA, when I put my South African Vodacom SIM card in I can make calls and send sms's but the phone is not registering on the vodacom data network for BIS even though I have BIS activated on my contract.

After some some research and troubleshooting I realised that there is no settings under HOST ROUTING TABLE and I think this might be the issue , I have tried registering the phone but dont get a response from any vodacom or blackberry server...

Please assist
Hall of Famer III
Posts: 57,244
Registered: ‎11-28-2008
My Device: PRIV (6.0.1/AAF518), Z10/Z30/Q10 (10.3.2.2813), Playbook (2.1.0.1526)
My Carrier: TMobile USA

Re: Network - invalid on verizon bold 9930


chucky7 wrote:
I desperately require your assistance. I have just brought back a unlocked 9930 from USA, when I put my South African Vodacom SIM card in I can make calls and send sms's but the phone is not registering on the vodacom data network for BIS even though I have BIS activated on my contract.

After some some research and troubleshooting I realised that there is no settings under HOST ROUTING TABLE and I think this might be the issue , I have tried registering the phone but dont get a response from any vodacom or blackberry server...

Please assist

Duplicate:

http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/BlackBerry-Bold/No-BIS-with-Vodacom-SIM-on-Unlocked-Sprint-99...



Occam's Razor nearly always applies when troubleshooting technology issues!

New to the Community? Click here and also here for helpful guidance. Also please click here for additional helpful information to guide you as you proceed. I always recommend that you treat your BlackBerry like any other computing device, including using a regular backup schedule...click here for an article with instructions. If anyone has been helpful to you, please show your appreciation by clicking the button. Need a reference to BB10 OS/SR versions? Click here. Need a specific BB10 AutoLoader? Send me a private message.

...................................................... ......................................................
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
My Device: Blackberry Bold 9930
My Carrier: Vodacom

Re: Network - invalid on verizon bold 9930

hi There

 

Nothing worked for me. Apparently the 9930 doesnt work in South Africa, cos of some radio setting or something. Only the 9900. I had to go back to using my old bold. 

 

If you do manage to get yours working however, please let me know

 

 

Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
My Device: Bold 9930
My Carrier: Vodacom

Re: Network - invalid on verizon bold 9930

Ok will do
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
My Device: Bold 9930
My Carrier: Vodacom

Re: Network - invalid on verizon bold 9930

Thanks, there must be a way of resetting the radio software or something, who told you thay it wont work in SA
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-08-2012
My Device: Blackberry Bold 9930
My Carrier: Vodacom

Re: Network - invalid on verizon bold 9930

Vodacom told me, twice! And then I sent my phone into an little indian/chinese repair shop as last resort and they also couldnt do anything. They offered to trade my phone for 9900, but wanted to charge me an extra R2000! So passed on that

Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
My Device: Bold 9930
My Carrier: Vodacom

Re: Network - invalid on verizon bold 9930

Eish thats not lekker, its such a lekker phone Im going to try make a plan to get it sorted, will email the company that sold it to me and ask for help and see what they say
Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-06-2012
My Device: Bold 9930
My Carrier: Vodacom

Re: Network - invalid on verizon bold 9930

Did you buy your phone unlocked?