Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-05-2008
My Device: Not Specified
Accepted Solution

New Customer! Some Questions

Well just bought the Blackberry Bold from Ebay! it's unlocked because I will leave the USA for about 4 years to study and my contract with AT&T just finished couple of days ago and no point on renewing it.
It's my first blackberry and I can't use it 100% as you may be able to do it, I just have couple of doubts and I will gladly accept anyone of you helping me.
First I dont have a Sim Card yet, because of reasons I explaine above.
Questions:
1) How can I setup my normal Hotmail + Gmail Email on the phone? The only option is available for me it's the BB Enterprise Server. It's possible to have my email using Wifi? OR i have to have a Data plan?
2)related question, I download some chat applications to my bold like for instance, msn and aim. But when I try to log in this message appear: Data Service Unavailable? How can I long in using wi-fi connection (if it is possible)?

Basically those are my questions, I haven't been a high tech guy but I really like the bold and decide to bought it and im very happy with it, just have those questions and I will really appreciate if someone will give me an answer. Plz don't berate me.

Thanks

Luis
Forums Veteran III
Posts: 4,526
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Bold - T-mobile

Re: New Customer! Some Questions

One answer for the 2 question

You need a data plan, without data plan you only use internet over WIFI.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-05-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: New Customer! Some Questions

thanks for the reply urun.

 

So basically i can't use those IM applications using the Wi-Fi connection?

Posts: 95,104
Likes: 24,495
Solutions: 6,375
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: New Customer! Some Questions

And of course, you will need a SIM in the device to enable any data plan, wherein you will get the icon for "personal email setup".


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-05-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: New Customer! Some Questions

thanks sanders, so I when I go to Honduras I will put the SIM (digicel) and be able to use the email setup.Hopefully it will work.

 

 

Posts: 95,104
Likes: 24,495
Solutions: 6,375
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: New Customer! Some Questions

Digicel also has BlackBerry Data service so you should be in biz. You can use the hotspot browser without a data plan or even a sim. Go to Options > Advanced > Browser and set it to Hotspot browser.


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-05-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: New Customer! Some Questions

I have it configured that way. And when I try to log in on AIM or MSN the devilce say that: Data Service Unavailable!Smiley Sad

 

 

Posts: 95,104
Likes: 24,495
Solutions: 6,375
Registered: ‎04-01-2008
My Device: Passport • Z30 • Z10 • Torch9850 • Playbook
My Carrier: Verizon

Re: New Customer! Some Questions

Yep, you won't get the instant messaging apps through WiFi, with out a sim or data plan.


1. If any post helps you please click the Like Button below the post(s) that helped you.
2. Please resolve your thread by marking the post "Solution?" which solved it for you!
3. Install free BlackBerry Protect today for backups of contacts and data.
4. Guide to Unlocking your BlackBerry & Unlock Codes
Join our BBM Channels (Beta)
BlackBerry Support Forums Channel
PIN: C0001B7B4   Display/Scan Bar Code
Knowledge Base Updates
PIN: C0005A9AA   Display/Scan Bar Code
New Contributor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎12-05-2008
My Device: Not Specified

Re: New Customer! Some Questions

ohhh ok sanders, really appreciate your responses.

 

Can i have them just having a SIM but not a data plan, or are BOTH necessary?

Forums Veteran III
Posts: 4,526
Registered: ‎10-16-2008
My Device: Bold - T-mobile

Re: New Customer! Some Questions

You need Both
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If I help you with any inquire, thank you for click kudos in my post.
If your issue has been solved, please mark the post was solved.