Welcome!

Welcome to the official BlackBerry Support Community Forums.

This is your resource to discuss support topics with your peers, and learn from each other.

inside custom component

BlackBerry® OS Smartphones

Reply
Highlighted
New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-18-2012
My Device: Blackberry curve 8520
My Carrier: Vodafone

'New contacts'

I cannot create new contacts on my blackberry curve 8520. Everytime I click on 'new contact' it freezes my phone.

Forums Veteran III
Posts: 3,802
Registered: ‎12-29-2011
My Device: Z30 / Playbook

Re: 'New contacts'

Have you tried a battery pull?  How long has this been happening?

________________________________________________________________
Please click the Thumbs Up icon if this comment has helped you!
If your issue is resolved, please click the solution button on the resolution!
Every BlackBerry should have BlackBerry Protect, get it now! | Follow me on Twitter | Bring Back BBM Music!
________________________________________________________________
New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-18-2012
My Device: curve 8350
My Carrier: orange

Re: 'New contacts'

the same thing is happening with mine, i can't edit an old contact either, i have done the battery pull and it ahs made no difference...??? Smiley Sad
Forums Veteran III
Posts: 3,802
Registered: ‎12-29-2011
My Device: Z30 / Playbook

Re: 'New contacts'

Its extreme, but a software reload may be in order here.

http://us.blackberry.com/support/installpc.jsp

________________________________________________________________
Please click the Thumbs Up icon if this comment has helped you!
If your issue is resolved, please click the solution button on the resolution!
Every BlackBerry should have BlackBerry Protect, get it now! | Follow me on Twitter | Bring Back BBM Music!
________________________________________________________________
Forums Veteran I
Posts: 2,071
Registered: ‎10-10-2010
My Device: Z10
My Carrier: EE (Orange)

Re: 'New contacts'

Have you recently updated one of the IM apps (yahoo, windows live, gtalk)?

 

There appears to be a problem with the recent updates and the address book - if you uninstall the apps you updated and reboot the phone it should work 

New Contributor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-18-2012
My Device: curve 8350
My Carrier: orange

Re: 'New contacts'

yes!! and i've just done wot usaid and hey presto working again... thanks!!!!!
Forums Advisor I
Posts: 634
Registered: ‎12-30-2011
My Device: Blackberry Curve 8520, BlackBerry PlayBook
My Carrier: MTN

Re: 'New contacts'

Hello !

 

Try the following:

 

Simply delete all the  Messenger apps (Yahoo, MSN or Live) which you might have upgraded recently / delete apps which were recently installed before the error which actually started occuring .

 

After that unplug the battery while the phone is still "on" and restart the phone.

 

In fact I had deleted a whole bunch of apps to facilitate my OS upgrade as I did not have enough memory on my Device.  

 

This not only helped solve my above mentioned problem but also made my phone restart in less than 3 minutes (the earlier reboot was done in not less than 15  minutes !!).

 

Therefore my conclusion as from the above incidents is to keep your apps in the bare minimum so that your phone performs to the best.

 

Hope this resolves your Problem!

 

If your problem has been resolved then would request you to Click on "Like" and accept as "Solution" so that other Advisors doesnt invest their time on this Message anymore.

 

Thanks.

New Contributor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-18-2012
My Device: Blackberry curve 8520
My Carrier: Vodafone

Re: 'New contacts'

I have attempted this solution and the problem is still there and I cannot edit any old contacts.